By February 13, 2022 October 19th, 2022 Newsroom

ISKANDAR PUTERI (13 FEBRUARY 2022): The 2022 Johor Close Badminton Championship once again lived up to its top billing with aspiring shuttlers producing scintillating performances on the final day of the competition at the NS Sport Hall in Gelang Patah here today.

It was a massive success of the organiser’s – Johor Badminton Association (JBA), who provided the opportunity for these young talents to strut their stuff during the four-day tournament, which dew more than 300 participants.

As expected the main draw on the final day saw Ashraf Daniel claiming bragging rights as the best in the state after edging his brother Ariffin Nazri in the men’s Under-21 singles final.

It was a thrilling and exhausting opening set for the siblings. Ashraf was stretched to the limit before overcoming 29-27. However, Ariffin staged a dramatic comeback, defeating Ashraf 21-19 in the second set. In the rubber set, Ashraf emerged triumphant and broke his brother’s spirits, defeating him 21-18.

A delighted Ashraf commended his younger brother for putting up a superb fight till the end. “It was not an easy task reaching the final. I would like to congratulate Ariffin for making it this far. It was a tough game and I am proud to share this moment with my brother”, said Ashraf.

He added “Ariffin has helped me to develop my game and we hope that we would get the opportunity to represent Johor one day”.

In the afternoon fixtures, Lee Yi Bo – Sim Wee Sheng made short work of Kick Weishen – Ong Jia En to clinch the Under-21 men’s doubles title.

In the opening set, Yi Bo – Wee Sheng suffered a surprise loss when they went down 18-21. But they picked up the pieces in the second set to win 21-12. There was no stopping Yi Bo – Wee Sheng in the rubber set when they easily swept their opponents 21-6.

The 10th edition of the 2022 Johor Close Badminton Championship comprised of four categories, Under-21 , Under-16, Under-14 and Under-12.

2022 Johor Close Badminton Championship Winner List

Men Singles U-21
Winner: Ashraf Daniel Zakaria
Runner Up: Ariffin Nazri Zakaria

Women Singles U-21
Winner: Hoe Shi Yun
Runner Up: Dylyvva Saha

Men Doubles U-21
Winner: Lee Yi Bo-Sim Wee Sheng
Runner Up: Kick Weishen – Ong Jia En

Women Doubles U-21
Winner: Dylyvya Saha – Dyvylyn Saha
Runner Up: Chong Kei Wee – Koh Yu Wen

Boys Singles U-16
Winner: Tan Jia Le
Runner Up: Wee Ye Tern

Girls Singles U-16
Winner: Dania Sofea Zaidi
Runner Up: Seong Ler Yee

Boys Doubles U-16
Winner: Toh E Hern – Wee Yee Tern
Runner Up: Siau Yu Hang – Tan Jia Le

Girls Doubles U-16
Winner: Tania Nair-Wong Yue Qin
Runner Up: Dania Sofea Zaidi – Tang Wang Ling

Boys Doubles U-14
Winner: Chiam Zi Yi
Runner Up: Law Jayden

Girls Singles U-14
Winner: R.Kheertiksha
Runner Up: How Yin Xuan

Boys Doubles U-14
Winner: Chiam Zi Yi – Jayden Law
Runner Up: Irfan Mukhlas – Muhammad Emir Arshad

Girls Doubles U-14
Winner: R.Kheertiksha – Lim Tung Ern
Runner Up: S.Hasynidevi-N.Navina

Boys Singles U-12
Winner: Alfred Phua
Runner Up: Keith Leow

Girls Singles U-12
Winner: Low Zi Yu
Runner Up: Auni Fatihin

Boys Doubles U-12
Winner: Goh Wei Zhan – Alfred Phua
Runner Up: Dani Syafi – Keith Low

Girls Doubles U-12
Winner: Auni Fatihin Azuan – Low Zi Yu
Runner Up: Chen Siew Siew – Nur Syasya Safrina