Jin Wei lead the Malaysian challenge into the second round

By April 3, 2019 April 8th, 2019 Newsroom

BUKIT JALIL (3 April 2019): National women’s number one, Goh Jin Wei will lead Malaysia’s challenge into the second round of the Celcom Axiata Malaysia Open 2019 when she passed her first test with flying colours today at the Axiata Arena, Bukit Jalil.The two time world junior champion and Youth Olympic Games gold medallist, was not put under too much pressure, easily disposing of Thai shuttler, Nitchaon Jindapol, 21-13 21-12.
When asked about her performance today, Jin Wei said, “I enjoyed the game just now, was not too tired and was not too stressed.

“For my match after this, I am focused on giving a good fight either against Pornpawee (Chochuwong), I am only thinking of giving my best against her as she is among the top 20 ranked players in the world and I haven’t met her for so long,” added the Bukit Mertajam native.

Pornpawee went through after the Thai shuttler upset eighth seed, Saina Nehwal from India, 20-22, 21-15, 21-10.

Also marching onwards are mixed doubles pair, Goh Soon Huat-Shevon Jemie Lai who won convincingly, 21-13 21-15 against Indonesian pair, Alfian Eko Prasetya-Marsheilla Gischa Islami in 23 minutes.

After the match, Shevon immediately turned her sights on their second round meeting against Thai pair, Dechapol Puavaranukroh-Sapsiree Taerattanachai, whom they have lost in their last two meetings with the overall record 4-3 favouring the Malaysians.

“Our match up with the Thai pair after this is 50-50 and in our previous meeting was dominated by them. We will do all we can on the court and hope for a positive result,” added Shevon.

They will be joined by Perodua Malaysia Masters runners up, Ong Yew Sin-Teo Ee Yi also did not have much trouble booking their places in the next round, overcoming Thai duo, Kittinupong Kedren-Dechapol Puavaranukroh, 21-17, 21-19.

The nation’s no. 3 pair will later face seventh seeds, Han Chengkai-Zhou Haodong after the Chinese pair overcame Indian duo, Attri Manu-Reddy B Sumeeth.

Malaysia’s hope in the men’s singles, Lee Zii Jia fought bravely but had to concede defeat to Suppanyu Avihingsanon from Thailand, 17-21, 21-19, 15-21 in the opening round.

Runners up at the recent Indian Open, Chow Mei Kuan-Lee Meng Yean also saw their journey halted by eighth seeds from Thailand, Jongkholphan Kititharakul-Rawinda Prajongjai, 12-21, 10-21, 15-21.

All England runners up, Aaron Chia-Soh Wooi Yik continued their good form when they disposed of Rio 2016 bronze medallists, Marcus Ellis-Chris Langridge from England, 21-14, 21-19.

They will meet Takuro Hoki-Yugo Kobayashi in the next round after the Japanese pair upset their higher ranked team mates and also last year’s runners up, Hiroyuki Endo-Yuta Watanabe, 17-21, 24-22, 21-9.

Celcom Axiata Terbuka Malaysia 2019 is powered by Kia Malaysia Sdn Bhd as the official vehicle partner, will be held on the 2nd to 7th April 2019 at the Axiata Arena, Kuala Lumpur Sports City (KLSC)offering a total prize money of AS$ 700,000.00.

Tickets for five category seats from premium, lower, upper, VIP and Superfan (for fans who want to experience a unique atmosphere and want to be close to the players and access to exclusive Axiata Arena hospitality suites, official signed posters by national players and program books) are already on sale. They can be purchased through the website http://www.myticket.asia or through the hotline (+603-86050195) or can be bought directly from the venue throughout the duration of the championships.

Results of Malaysians in action (First round) Day 2

MS Kanta TSUNEYAMA (Japan) won CHONG Wei Feng 21-12 21-12

XD GOH Soon Huat-LAI Shevon Jemie won Alfian Eko PRASETYA- Marsheilla Gischa ISLAMI (Indonesia) 21-13 21-15

WS GOH Jin Wei won Nitchaon JINDAPOL (Thailand) 21-13 21-12

WD Jongkolphan KITITHARAKUL- Rawinda PRAJONGJAI (Thailand) won CHOW Mei Kuan- LEE Meng Yean 12-21 21-10 21-15

MS Suppanyu AVIHINGSANON (Thailand) won LEE Zii Jia 21-17 19-21 21-15

MD ONG Yew Sin- TEO Ee Yi won Kittinupong KEDREN- Dechapol PUAVARANUKROH (Thailand) 21-17 21-19

MD Aaron CHIA- SOH Wooi Yik won Marcus ELLIS- Chris LANGRIDGE (England) 21-14 21-19