22 local and 2 foreign teams to battle for MCKK Premier 7s crown

By February 18, 2019 February 19th, 2019 Newsroom

Fans can expect a more intense competition

KUALA LUMPUR (18 February 2019): Entering into its ninth edition scheduled to kick off on March 1-3, the MCKK Premier 7s Rugby Championship 2019 continues to attract teams from around Asia and local outfits who will battle for the NJ Ryan Trophy.
Of the 24 teams who have confirmed their entries for this year’s edition, 22 are from Malaysia while the other two – Shizuoka Seiko Academy is from Japan and Sri Lanka entry Agoal Rugby Academy. With an additional team from abroad compared to last year’s single entry, the competition promises to be more competitive and intense.

Alongside the two new international sides, Sekolah Menengah Sains Muzaffar Shah from Malacca and Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Sultan Sulaiman from Kuala Terengganu will also be making their first appearance in this prestigious tournament.

President of Malaysian Rugby Union, Datuk Shahrul Zaman Yahya (sitting on sofa:second from right), President of MCOBA, YM Tunku Dato’ Ahmad Burhanuddin (sitting on sofa:second from left), Co-Chairman of MCKK Premier 7s, Mr. Roslan Hassan (sitting on sofa: far right), Co-Chairman of MCKK Premier 7s, Mr, Anand Baharuddin (sitting on sofa: far left), joined in for a photo op session with all the sponsors during the launching ceremony and press conference of MCKK Premier 7s 2019 at MCOBA Building earlier today.

President of the Malaysian Rugby Union (KRM) Datuk Shahrul Zaman Yahya, who was present at the MCKK Premier 7s Press Conference today, wholeheartedly approves the organisation of the MCKK Premier 7s as it provides a platform for young rugby players in the country to excel.

“Well done and congratulations to the organisers of the MCKK Premier 7s which is in its ninth edition,” said Shahrul. “It is not an easy task to organise such a prestigious tournament consistently and with the added attraction of many established teams, it will only help improve the playing skills of the young players involved in the tournament.”

He added: “The MCKK Premier 7s is an admirable initiative to assist the development of rugby in the country and I hope that the young players will take this opportunity to showcase their abilities and improve their playing skills. I hope the players will show grit and determination in their effort to win the title and will continue to strive and one day represent Malaysia in the world rugby arena.”

President of The Malay College Old Boys’ Association (MCOBA) YM Tunku Dato’ Ahmad Burhanuddin said: “I am very pleased and overjoyed at the rate rugby is being developed in our country. The national team has achieved much lately like winning the gold medal at the 2017 SEA Games in Kuala Lumpur, finishing fifth at the Asian Games 2018, and emerging champions in the Asia Rugby Under-18 Championship.”

“This proves that rugby in Malaysia is moving in the right direction and we hope the sport will continue to grow and make the nation proud in the near future. Therefore, tournaments like this MCKK Premier 7s is an important launch-pad to ensure young players with the necessary talent get vital exposure during their schooling years,” added Burhanuddin.

“I am also grateful to the sponsors such as Gamuda Berhad, Tenaga Nasional Berhad and Bank Muamalat Malaysia Berhad as well as the other partners which continued their support for the MCKK Premier 7s to promote rugby. We look forward to your continuous backing which is vital to give our players a boost to make it to the international stage as quickly as possible. For the record, rugby is also a sport which is more than capable of educating young individuals to develop a bold character and live an active lifestyle.”

The tournament is scheduled to be played at the Malay College Kuala Kangsar (MCKK) Perak Rugby Field and among the teams expected to challenge for the top prize are Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School (SSTMI), SMK Sri Mersing and hosts MCKK.

With the addition of the two foreign teams, this year’s competition is expected to be more keenly contested especially after SMK Sri Mersing upset the odds and stole the thunder from SSTMI whom they beat 14-12 in last year’s final for their maiden title.

MCKK Premier 7s is also under the Royal Patronage of His Majesty The Sultan of Perak, DYMM Paduka Seri Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah Ibni Almarhum Sultan Azlan Muhibbuddin Shah Al-Maghfurlah who is also an ardent rugby fan besides being the Royal Patron of the Rugby Union of Malaysia.

For the record, past winners include SSTMI with four titles (2011, 2012, 2016 and 2017), MCKK (2013), Scots College New Zealand (2014), Hong Kong Sports School (2015) and SMK Sri Mersing in 2018.