PUBC creates history in SSPL 2018/19

By January 27, 2019 January 28th, 2019 Newsroom

Wins 10-6 against Kepong BC for back to back titles

GENTING HIGHLANDS (27 January 2019): History was created at the Arena of Stars, Resorts World Genting when Puchong United Badminton Club (PUBC) won back to back titles in the SS Purple League, winning 10-6 against Kepong Badminton Club at the SSPL 2018/19 finale today.

It was gone in 16 seconds for Kepong BC when they had to concede the tie in the dying seconds when Malaysian-Indonesian mixed doubles pair, Cheah Yee See-Ricky Karandasuwardi lost the final set, 1-2 to Korean-Malaysian pair, Eom Hyewon-Tang Chun Man after 30 minutes regulation time to hand PUBC their second consecutive win after last season’s success.

Hyewon-Chun Man won the match 3-2 (11-7, 10-11, 10-11, 11-10, 2-1) to spark scenes of delirium among PUBC’s players, coaches, management and fans, echoing last year’s maiden success, with Kepong BC the victims again in a 10-8 win.

PUBC’s success mirrors now defunct, Muar City Badminton Club’s back to back success in the inaugural season in 2014/15 & 2015/16. They were also runners up to Petaling Jaya Badminton Club in 2016/17.

Commenting on PUBC’s victory, team manager, Irina Inozemtseva said, “I feel everyone in the arena and at home witnessed a dramatic final. Overall this season, we played all out which led to our victory.

“Before the league began, I said that champions come and go, but legends leave their legacy. That is our goal at PUBC,” said Irina

National men’s singles, Soong Joo Ven got the ball rolling, continuing the good form he has shown in the final rounds when he defeated seasoned stalwart, Goh Giap Chin, 3-1 (8-11, 11-6, 11-6, 11-10) to put Kepong BC ahead.

Women’s singles, Deng Xuan then reversed the tie, putting PUBC 4-3 in front after outclassing Qin Jing Jing in an all Chinese affair, 3-0 (11-10, 11-10, 11-6).

Men’s doubles, Mak Hee Chun-Tan Boon Heong then put PUBC in the driving seat, 7-4 after a 3-1 (5-11, 11-9, 11-10, 11-10) win over Mads Conrad Petersen-Rian Agung Saputro before the heroics of Hyewon-Chun Man.

For their efforts, PUBC received a trophy and cash prize of RM520,000 while Kepong BC had to be satisfied with RM265,000.


Kepong BC 6-10 Puchong United BC
MS1 Joo Ven SOONG won Giap Chin GOH 3-1 (8-11 11-6 11-6 11-10)
WS Jin Jing QIN lost Xuan DENG 0-3 (10-11 10-11 6-11)
MD Mads Conrad PETERSEN -Rian Agung SAPUTRO lost Hee Chun MAK- Boon Heong TAN (1-3) 11-5 9-11 10-11 10-11
XD Yee See CHEAH- Ricky KARANDASUWARDI lost Hyewon EOM- Chun Man TANG 2-3 (7-11 11-10 11-10 10-11 1-2)
MS2 Chi Wing LIM vs Guipu LIN (Not played)


Champions: Puchong United BC
Runners up: Kepong BC
Third: Petaling BC
Fourth: Ampang Jaya BC
Fifth: Tebrau City BC
Sixth: Serdang BC
Seventh: Bukit Mertajam All Stars BC
Eighth: Bandar Maharani BC

About Malaysia Purple League
Founded in 2013, Malaysia Purple League is a competition platform in support of the Malaysian badminton effort by helping to develop and polish the skills of Malaysian badminton players to raise the level of competitive badminton in Malaysia. The league is an initiative that provides players of all levels, both professionals and amateurs, with an opportunity to gain invaluable competition experience, and concurrently strives to engage retired national greats to guide and inspire a new generation of champions. For more information, visit Malaysia Purple League website at