PUBC wins rematch of SSPL final, bounce back from AJBC defeat

By December 28, 2018 January 3rd, 2019 Newsroom

CYBERJAYA (28 December 2018): Defending champions, Puchong United Badminton Club (PUBC) showed that they won’t give up the SS Purple League title easily when they repeated their victory over Kepong Badminton Club (KBC) in the 2017/18 final, this time 11-8 on Day 7 Stage 1 SSPL 2018/19 at the Gem In Mall, Cyberjaya tonight.Reminiscing memories of their 10-8 win over KBC in the previous finale at Resorts World Genting, PUBC again pulled out all the stops and in the process bounced back from their 6-9 defeat to Ampang Jaya Badminton Club (AJBC) on Boxing Day.

Goh Liu Ying-Tang Chun Man contributed winning points for Puchong United BC. They defeated Kepong BC’s, Cheah Yee See-Mohd Arif Ab Latif 3-1 (11-4 8-11 11-10 11-4).

Two time national champion, Lim Chi Wing set Kepong BC on their way with a 3-0 (11-4, 11-7, 11-5) comprehensive win over SSPL stalwart, Goh Giap Chin.

Up and coming national junior, Ho Yen Mei then put points on board for PUBC with a 3-1 (11-6, 11-9, 1-11, 11-9) win over Hong Kong’s, Yeung Sum Yee in the women’s singles.

Former national player, Tan Boon Heong then showed he still has what it takes, partnering Teo Ee Yi to devastating effect, overcoming world no 26, Lu Ching Yao-Yang Po Han from Taiwan, 3-1 (11-6, 11-8, 10-11, 8-6) to put PUBC 6-5 in the lead.

Goh Liu Ying, in her second outing with Hong Kong international, Tan Chung Man, put in a dominant display to extend PUBC’s lead to 9-6 with a 3-1 (11-4, 8-11, 11-10, 11-4) win over Malaysia’s mixed doubles pair, Cheah Yee See-Mohd Arif Ab Latif.

Lee Cheuk Yiu from Hong Kong, then had to settle for a draw with Malaysia’s, Soong Joo Ven in the men’s singles, 2-2 (11-5, 10-11, 11-8, 9-10) but it was enough to see PUBC through at the end of the buzzer.

“It was a bit disappointing as we let our opponents steal points in the men’s doubles, mixed doubles and men’s singles. This is important as we haven’t yet played one more strong team yet, Petaling BC and the points difference will be crucial later on,” said Irina Nozemtseva, manager of PUBC.

In the earlier match, star studded Ampang Jaya Badminton Club (AJBC) snatched victory from the jaws of defeat to record their fourth consecutive win, 10-9 against newcomers, Tebrau City Badminton Club (TCBC).

Even without their superstars, AJBC still had enough firepower to finish off the job and in the process maintaining their 100% record, making them hot favourites for this year’s edition. AJBC got their points from experienced pair, Chan Peng Soon-Shevon Lai Jemie and national player, Lee Zii Jia.

The SS Purple League 2019 features local and international players including Olympic medallists, world champions, former big names and rising stars on the international stage.

Players from the eight teams will compete in three stages in a single round robin format and play-off format for the coveted SS Purple League trophy. Total prize money for this season is RM1,500,000.

The SS Purple League 2019 will run from December 2018 to January 2019 beginning with Stage 1 on 21-24 Dec, 26-30 Dec and 2-6 Jan 2019 to be held at Gem in Mall, Cyberjaya. Stage 2 will be played on 11-13 Jan 2019, also at Gem in Mall, Cyberjaya. The final round will be held on 24-27 Jan 2019 at the Arena of Stars, Resorts World Genting.

Tickets can be purchased at the venue and through the official website at RM15 for adults and RM9 for children below 12 years. Season passes for matches in KL only are priced at RM199.

(4.00pm)- Ampang Jaya BC 10-9 Tebrau City BC
MS2 Tan Jia Wei loss Ye Binghong 2-3 (5-11 11-3 11-8 7-11 6-10)
WS Ghaniyu Nurul Ghaida loss Xu Wei 0-3 (10-11 10-11 6-11)
MD Chooi Kah Ming- Low Juan Shen loss Ponsana Boonsak- Boontun Peeranat 2-3 (11-2 7-11 5-11 11-10 9-11)
XD Chan Peng Soon- Lai Jemie, Shevon won Tan Koong Le, Pearly- Tan Wee Gieen 3-0 (11-8 11-10 11-8)
MS1 Lee Zii Jia won Ramachandran Satheishtharan 3-0 (11-5 11-3 11-6)

(8.00pm)- Puchong United BC 11-8 Kepong BC
MS2 Goh Giap Chin loss Lim Chi Wing 0-3 (4-11 7-11 5-11)
WS Ho Yen Mei won Yeung Sum Yee 3-1 (11-6 11-9 1-11 11-9)
MD Tan Boon Heong- Teo Ee Yi won Lu Ching Yao- Yang Po Han 3-1 (11-6 11-8 10-11 8-6)
XD Goh Liu Ying- Tang Chun Man won Cheah Yee See- Ab Latif Mohd Arif 3-1 (11-4 8-11 11-10 11-4)
MS1 Lee Cheuk Yiu draw Soong Joo Ven 2-2 (11-5 10-11 11-8 9-10)

(4:00 PM)- Bukit Mertajam All Stars BC vs Petaling BC
(8:00 PM)- Serdang BC vs Bandar Maharani BC

About Malaysia Purple League

Founded in 2013, Malaysia Purple League is a competition platform in support of the Malaysian badminton effort by helping to develop and polish the skills of Malaysian badminton players to raise the level of competitive badminton in Malaysia. The league is an initiative that provides players of all levels, both professionals and amateurs, with an opportunity to gain invaluable competition experience, and concurrently strives to engage retired national greats to guide and inspire a new generation of champions. For more information, visit Malaysia Purple League website at