Puchong United BC Crowned Champions of SSPL 2017/18

By February 11, 2018 February 14th, 2018 Newsroom

GENTING HIGHLANDS (11 February 2018): After four attempts, Puchong United Badminton Club (BC) was finally crowned SS Purple League (SSPL) 2017/18 champions as they defeated Kepong BC 10-8 in the final at the Arena of Stars, Resorts World Genting earlier today.

World No. 8 Chou Tien Chen ended the impressive giant-killing spree of Kepong BC’s Dey Subhankar as the Puchong United BC player recorded a slim 3-2 (10-11, 11-3, 11-7, 8-11, 11-3) win in the first match of the tie.

Deng Xuan extended Puchong United BC’s lead after putting on a stellar performance to defeat Kepong BC’s Qin Jin Jing 3-0 (11-8, 11-10, 11-10) in the women’s singles match.

Kepong BC got right back into the game thanks to their Chinese Taipei pair, Su Ching Heng and Liao Min Chun. The World No. 16 men’s doubles pair won their match also in straight sets, beating Puchong United BC’s Mak Hee Chun and Yoo Yeon Seong 11-4, 11-10, 11-9.

Goh Liu Ying and Tan Kian Meng beat their Kepong BC opponents and national compatriots, Cheah Yee See and Goh Soon Huat 3-1 (11-9, 11-7, 9-11, 11-7) in the mixed doubles match to put Puchong United BC in a commanding position heading into the last men’s singles match.

Needing only one set win in the final match of the season, Hong Kong international, Wei Nan wrestled the much-needed point from Kepong BC’s Lim Chi Wing to hand Puchong United BC the trophy.

“This has been our dream. I have waited for this moment for four years since we first established Puchong United BC. We started out with very little so to win the championship today means the world to us,” said Puchong United BC’s team manager, Irina Inozemtseva.

“It was disappointing that we didn’t win last year. So it’s a fantastic achievement for us today. We knew from day one that a lot of hard work and sacrifice has to be made to become a title-winning team and finally today it felt like it was all worth it,” she added.

Besides the winners’ trophy, Puchong United BC also pocketed RM 520,000 while Kepong BC took home RM 265,000.

Earlier, Petaling Jaya BC defeated Cheras BC 9-2 in the 3rd/4th placing match at the Arena of Stars, Resorts World Genting.

Petaling Jaya BC’s Goh Giap Chin won the first men’s singles match 3-1 (10-11, 11-10, 11-7, 11-10) against Chong Wei Feng. Thai international, Supanida Katethong followed suit with a 3-1 (8-11, 11-9, 11-3, 11-9) win of her own against Shiori Saito of Cheras BC in the women’s singles.

Kim Gijung and Chooi Kah Ming then wrapped up the win as the Petaling Jaya BC pair hammered Cheras BC’s Danny Bawa Chrisnanta and Mohd Arif Ab Latif 3-0 (11-8, 11-4, 11-5).

SS Purple League 2017/18 Finals Results (11 February 2018)

(4pm) Final
Puchong United BC bt Kepong BC 10-8
MS1: Chou Tien Chen bt Dey Subhankar 3-2 (10-11, 11-3, 11-7, 8-11, 11-3)
WS: Deng Xuan bt Qin Jin Jing 3-0 (11-8, 11-10, 11-10)
MD: Mak Hee Chun-Yoo Yeon Seong lost to Liao Min Chun-Su Ching Heng 0-3 (4-11, 10-11, 9-11)
XD: Goh Liu Ying-Tan Kian Meng bt Cheah Yee See-Goh Soon Huat 3-1 (11-9, 11-7, 9-11, 11-7)
MS2: Wei Nan lost to Lim Chi Wing 1-2 (10-11, 7-11, 11-7 Retired)

(12pm) 3rd/4th Playoff
Petaling Jaya BC bt Cheras BC 9-2
MS1: Goh Giap Chin bt Chong Wei Feng 3-1 (10-11, 11-10, 11-7, 11-10)
WS: Supanida Katethong bt Shiori Saito 3-1 (8-11, 11-9, 11-3, 11-9)
MD: Chooi Kah Ming-Kim Gijung bt Danny Bawa Chrisnanta-Mohd Arif Ab Latif 3-0 (11-8, 11-4, 11-5)

Roll of Honour
Champions: Puchong United BC
Runners-up: Kepong BC
Second Runners-up: Petaling Jaya BC
Third Runners-up: Cheras BC
Fifth Place: Petaling BC
Sixth Place: Ampang Jaya BC
Seventh Place: Bangsar Hawks BC
Eighth Place: Serdang BC