Petaling BC in Fine Form Heading into SSPL Finals

By January 28, 2018 January 29th, 2018 Newsroom

KUALA LUMPUR (28 January 2018): Petaling Badminton Club (BC) ended their SS Purple League (SSPL) 2017/18 Stage 2 campaign on the right note after defeating Ampang Jaya BC 14-7 during their Group B match at the Sports Arena Sentosa, Old Klang Road earlier today.

Petaling BC gained the early advantage with Japanese international, Kenichi Tago having to dig deep into his reserves to beat Ampang Jaya BC’s Tan Jia Wei 3-2 (6-11, 11-9, 11-3, 7-11, 11-6) in the first men’s singles match.

They then extended the lead thanks to Hera Desiana Rachmawati straight sets win in the women’s singles match. The Indonesian beat her Ampang Jaya BC opponent, Xu Wei 3-0 (11-10, 11-7, 11-9).

In the men’s doubles match, Aaron Chia and Man Wei Chong put Petaling BC firmly in the driving seat after their impressive 3-1 (11-3, 9-11, 11-9, 11-5) win over Ampang Jaya BC’s Markis Kido and Muhd Syawal Mohd Ismail.

Devi Tika Permatasari and Irfan Fadhilah confirmed the win for Petaling BC as the Indonesian mixed doubles pair won their match 3-1 (9-11, 11-8, 11-8, 8-6) against Ampang Jaya BC’s Lukhi Apri Nugroho and Lee Shun Mei.

Nguyen Tien Minh spared Ampang Jaya BC’s blushes as his 3-2 (3-11, 11-5, 8-11, 11-7, 7-1) win against his opponent, Cheam June Wei in the last men’s singles match made the final score-line more respectable.

“I am very happy with my players’ performances today. Each and every one of them were at their level best except June Wei who was less experienced compared to his opponent. We will hope that we do indeed stay in the top 2 at the end of the day,” said Petaling BC’s head coach, Ismail Saman.

Only Cheras BC can now overtake Petaling BC for the second automatic semi-finals slot, provided that they collect 11 points in their match against Puchong United BC later today.

SS Purple League 2017/18 Stage 2 Results (28 January 2018)

Group B:
(4pm) Ampang Jaya BC lost to Petaling BC 7-14
MS2: Tan Jia Wei lost to Kenichi Tago 2-3 (11-6, 9-11, 3-11, 11-7, 6-11)
WS: Xu Wei lost to Hera Desiana Rachmawati 0-3 (10-11, 7-11, 9-11)
MD: Markis Kido-Muhd Syawal Mohd Ismail lost to Aaron Chia-Man Wei Chong 1-3 (3-11, 11-9, 9-11, 5-11)
XD: Lee Shun Mei-Lukhi Apri Nugroho lost to Devi Tika Permatasari-Irfan Fadhilah 1-3 (11-9, 8-11, 8-11, 6-8)
MS1: Nguyen Tien Minh bt Cheam June Wei 3-2 (3-11, 11-5, 8-11, 11-7, 7-1)