Cheras BC End Phase 1 with a Bang

By January 5, 2018 January 20th, 2018 Newsroom, Newsrooms

KUALA LUMPUR (5 January 2018): Cheras Badminton Club (BC) ended their SS Purple League (SSPL) 2017/18 Phase 1 campaign on a high after defeating an under-strength Petaling BC side 11-7 during their match at the Sports Arena Sentosa, Old Klang Road earlier today.

There was no splitting both sides early on as the first men’s singles match between Petaling BC’s Tan Chun Seang and Cheras BC’s Chong Yee Han ended in a 2-2 (10-11, 11-6, 11-10, 5-11) draw.

Hera Desiana Rachmawati put Petaling BC in the lead with a splendid 3-0 (11-5, 11-3, 11-8) winning performance against Cheras BC’s Singaporean import, Grace Chua Hui Zhen. But the lead only lasted momentarily as Cheras BC came roaring back in the men’s doubles match.

Danny Bawa Chrisnanta and Tan Wee Gieen recorded a 3-0 (11-3, 11-10, 11-6) win of their own as they overcame Petaling BC’s pair of Ian Wong Jien Sern and Man Wei Chong to level the overall score at 5-5.

Then it was Cheras BC who took the lead as their mixed doubles pair, Payee Lim Peiy Yee and Terry Hee Yong Kai continued their fine form to beat Petaling BC’s Indonesian pair, Devi Tika Permatasari and Irfan Fadhilah 3-1 (8-11, 11-9, 11-7, 11-9) in the fourth match of the tie.

Fikri Ihsandi Hadmadi sealed the wonderful win for Cheras BC as he defeated Petaling BC’s Iskandar Zulkarnain 3-1 (11-6, 10-11, 11-10, 3-2) in the last men’s singles match.

“It is important that we win our last game of this phase so we can carry forward the winning momentum to Phase 2. I am also glad that we confirmed our spot in the Finals. I will stick to this same line-up for Phase 2 as we need to develop the consistency in the build up to the Finals,” said Cheras BC’s head coach, Nova Armada.

The result ensured both sides’ qualification to the SSPL 2017/18 Finals in Arena of Stars, Resorts World Genting next month.

SSPL 2017/18 Phase 1 Results (5/1/2018)

(4pm) Petaling BC lost to Cheras BC 7-11
MS2: Tan Chun Seang drew with Chong Yee Han 2-2 (10-11, 11-6, 11-10, 5-11)
WS: Hera Desiana Rachmawati bt Grace Chua Hui Zhen 3-0 (11-5, 11-3, 11-8)
MD: Ian Wong Jien Sern-Man Wei Chong lost to Danny Bawa Chrisnanta-Tan Wee Gieen 0-3 (3-11, 10-11, 6-11)
XD: Devi Tika Permatasari-Irfan Fadhilah lost to Payee Lim Peiy Yee-Terry Hee Yong Kai 1-3 (11-8, 9-11, 7-11, 9-11)
MS1: Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin lost to Fikri Ihsandi Hadmadi 1-3 (6-11, 11-10, 10-11, 2-3)