Puchong United BC Remain Unbeaten

By January 4, 2018 January 20th, 2018 Newsroom, Newsrooms

KUALA LUMPUR (4 January 2018): Puchong United Badminton Club (BC) are in pole position to finish at the top of the SS Purple League (SSPL) 2017/18 Phase 1 standings after narrowly defeating Cheras BC 11-8 during their match at the Sports Arena Sentosa, Old Klang Road today.

The first men’s singles match between Puchong United BC’s Liew Daren and Cheras BC’s Chong Yee Han ended in a 2-2 (11-10, 10-11, 8-11, 11-9) draw before Deng Xuan broke the deadlock as the Puchong United women’s singles beat her opponent Grace Chua Hui Zhen 3-0 (11-8, 11-6, 11-9) in their match.

Puchong United BC’s lead was extended courtesy of Ong Yew Sin and Teo Ee Yi’s 3-1 (11-9, 8-11, 11-5, 11-5) win over Cheras BC’s Danny Bawa Chrisnanta and Tan Wee Gieen in the men’s doubles match.

“Ee Yi and I performed well today, we dropped a set largely due to my errors at the back because I had troubles lifting the shuttle which did not set Ee Yi up nicely at the front and it gave us problems defending as well. But we stuck to our game plan to win comfortably in the end. Ee Yi and I are the national team pairing as well so there were never any issues with chemistry and communication,” said Puchong United BC’s Ong Yew Sin after the his match.

Terry Hee Yong Kai and Payee Lim Peiy Yee gave Cheras BC a glimmer of hope as they shocked the more experience Puchong United BC mixed doubles pair of Tan Kian Meng and Lee Hyo Jung 3-0 (11-6, 11-10, 11-9) in the fourth match of the game.

But Wei Nan delivered for Puchong United BC when his team needed it the most, beating Cheras BC’s Fikri Ihsandi Hadmadi 3-2 (11-7, 7-11, 7-11, 11-9, 4-3) in the last match of the night to keep Puchong United BC’s winning streak alive.

Earlier, Ampang Jaya BC put on some sublime badminton display to outclass Serdang BC 15-1 earlier today during their SSPL 2017/18 Phase 1 match at the Sports Arena Sentosa, Old Klang Road.

Four successive straight sets wins ensured Ampang Jaya BC started the New Year on a high. Yan Runze gifted Ampang Jaya BC a fantastic start as he swiftly disposed of Serdang BC’s Leong Jun Hao in the first men’s singles match, winning 3-0 (11-5, 11-9, 11-8).

Goh Jin Wei and Lukhi Apri Nugroho-Muhd Syawal Ismail fired Ampang Jaya BC to their fourth win of the season after winning their respective matches in quick successions. Goh defeated Serdang BC’s Huang Qiong Hui 3-0 (11-5, 11-9, 11-3) in their women’s singles match while Lukhi and Syawal beat their opponents Ong Wei Khoon and Tan Jinn Hwa 3-0 (11-6, 11-6, 11-9) in the men’s doubles match.

The onslaught continued as Ampang Jaya BC’s Chan Peng Soon and Nurul Farisha Abd Malek recorded yet another straight sets win over Serdang BC’s Mohd Syazmil Idham and Tan Sueh Jeou 3-0 (11-3, 11-5, 11-7) in the mixed doubles match.

Zulfadli Zulkiffli capped off Ampang Jaya BC’s brilliant team performance by beating Serdang BC’s Lee Zii Jia 3-1 (11-7, 11-4, 7-11, 11-6) in the final match of the tie.

“I think I was quite slow out of the blocks during my match, but luckily I still managed to win 3-0. It wasn’t one of my best performances but I am glad to be able to contribute. I will strive to continue to do better and win more points for my team and eventually qualify for the Finals,” said Ampang Jaya BC’s Goh Jin Wei.

SSPL 2017/18 Phase 1 Results (4/1/2018)

(4pm) Ampang Jaya BC bt Serdang BC 15-1
MS2: Yan Runze bt Leong Jun Hao 3-0 (11-5, 11-9, 11-8)
WS: Goh Jin Wei bt Huang Qiong Hui 3-0 (11-5, 11-9, 11-3)
MD: Lukhi Apri Nugroho-Muhd Syawal Mohd Ismail bt Ong Wei Khoon-Tan Jinn Hwa 3-0 (11-6, 11-6, 11-9)
XD: Chan Peng Soon-Nurul Farisha Abd Malek bt Mohd Syazmil Idham-Tan Sueh Jeou 3-0 (11-3, 11-5, 11-7)
MS1: Zulfadli Zulkiffli bt Lee Zii Jia 3-1 (11-7, 11-4, 7-11, 11-6)

(8pm) Puchong United BC bt Cheras BC 11-8
MS2: Liew Daren drew with Chong Yee Han 2-2 (11-10, 10-11, 8-11, 11-9)
WS: Deng Xuan bt Grace Chua Hui Zhen 3-0 (11-8, 11-6, 11-9)
MD: Ong Yew Sin-Teo Ee Yi bt Danny Bawa Chrisnanta-Tan Wee Gieen 3-1 (11-9, 8-11, 11-5, 11-5)
XD: Lee Hyo Jung-Tan Kian Meng lost to Payee Lim Peiy Yee-Terry Hee Yong Kai 0-3 (6-11, 10-11, 9-11)
MS1: Wei Nan bt Fikri Ihsandi Hadmadi 3-2 (11-7, 7-11, 7-11, 11-9, 4-3)