SS Purple League 2017/18 to Return Bigger and Badder

By December 15, 2017 December 18th, 2017 Newsroom

KUALA LUMPUR (15 December 2017): The SS Purple League (SSPL) 2017/18 is returning and it promises to be even more exciting as expectations are sky-high heading into the fourth edition of the tournament.

Eight teams have confirmed their participation in this year’s SSPL. The teams include last year’s champion, Petaling Jaya Badminton Club (BC), Ampang Jaya BC, Bangsar Hawks BC, Kepong BC, Petaling BC, Puchong United BC, Serdang BC and the returning Cheras BC who missed last year’s edition.

“I am certain that this year’s SSPL will be even more entertaining as all players from these eight participating clubs are in a class of their own. This is vital to ensure the SSPL maintains its prestige and that will ultimately impact the quality of the league. I believe that the SSPL will once again produce some top quality ‘badmintainment’ for all badminton enthusiasts out there,” said Dato’ Jack Koh, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Malaysia Purple League.

Dato’ Jack also hopes that the SSPL will be the backbone for badminton in Malaysia and that it will ensure the quality and success of the sport is continuously improving.

“Most countries are now performing well in badminton. Malaysian badminton has had its share of ups and downs this year but we will end it with a bang with the return of the SSPL2017/18. We as one of the world’s badminton powerhouse should be proud for having a reputable badminton league to rival the likes of China and India. For the 2017/18 season, I am confident the league will become more vibrant as players are more familiar of the game format as well as the rules. The participation of top young shuttlers is also something that is very positive to the nation’s future of badminton,” said Dato’ Jack.

“In addition, I always look forward to support from private sectors just as Samsung and Senheng as such backing has proved pivotal in Purple League becoming one of the must-watch badminton leagues in the world, “he added.

Samsung and Senheng Electric will once again resume their roles as main sponsors for this edition of the SSPL as they look to do their part and help promote Malaysian badminton.

“We are proud to resume our support for Dato’ Jack and the Malaysia Purple League as we believe in the values of the Purple League – which is to constantly improve and revolutionize the badminton scene in Malaysia, just like our principles here in Samsung,” said Yoonsoo Kim, President of Samsung Electronics Malaysia.

Lim Kim Heng, Managing Director of Senheng Electrics (KL) Sdn Bhd also echoed Kim’s sentiments.

“As long as Dato’ Jack and his team strive to organise and make the Purple League happen year in and year out, we will stand by Malaysia Purple League every step of the way to ensure that the highest quality of badminton is produced through this channel,” said Kim Heng.

This edition of the SSPL will also see a new format being introduced. Broken up into two phases, each team will play each other once during the group stages in the first phase. The top 6 teams from the first phase will then move on to Phase 2 whereby they will be broken up to two groups of three and points won during this phase will contribute to total points accumulated from Phase 1.

The total sum of points amounted from Phase 1 and 2 will determine the final standings and seeds for the knockout stage draw.

The top 6 teams will then move on to the knockout stage in Arena of Stars, Resorts World Genting from the 8th to 11th February 2018. Both 7th and 8th placed team from Phase 1 will only play one off match against each other to determine their final position.

Some of the notable names that will be strutting their stuff on the court for the SSPL 2017/18 is last season’s Most Valuable Player (MVP), Goh Giap Chin, Woon Khe Wei (Petaling Jaya BC), Datuk Lee Chong Wei, Goh V Shem (Petaling BC), Cheah Yee See, Lim Chi Wing, Goh Soon Huat (Kepong BC), Goh Jin Wei, Zulfadli Zulkiffli, Chan Peng Soon (Ampang Jaya BC), Teo Ee Yi, Ong Yew Sin, Tan Kian Meng, Lai Pei Jing, Shevon Jemie Lai (Puchong United BC), Lee Zii Jia, Leong Jun Hao, Lee Ying Ying (Serdang BC), Tan Boon Heong and Chong Wei Feng (Cheras BC).

Meanwhile, foreign players that will be plying their trade in the SSPL 2017/18 includes Lee Cheuk Yiu (Petaling Jaya BC), Kenichi Tago, Zhang Beiwen (Petaling BC), Markis Kido (Ampang Jaya BC), Tommy Sugiarto (Cheras BC), Pannawit Thongnuam, Yang Po Han (Kepong BC), Aya Ohori, Yoo Yeon Seong, Lee Hyo Jung and Chou Tien Chen (Puchong United BC).

Matches from Phase 1 and 2, including the 7th and 8th playoff will be played at Sports Arena Sentosa, Jalan Klang Lama.

SSPL 2017/18 Dates

Phase 1:
Matchweek 1: 18-23 December 2017 (Sports Arena Sentosa, Jalan Klang Lama)
Matchweek 2: 26-30 December 2017 (Sports Arena Sentosa, Jalan Klang Lama)
Matchweek 3: 4-6 January 2018 (Sports Arena Sentosa, Jalan Klang Lama)

Phase 2:
Matchweek 4: 26-28 January 2018 (Sports Arena Sentosa, Jalan Klang Lama)

Phase 3:
Grand Finals: 8-11 February 2018 (Arena of Stars, Resorts World Genting)