Rashid Sidek’s Cheras BC get the upper hand in title race

By September 30, 2017 October 6th, 2017 Newsroom

PUCHONG (30 September, 2017): Cheras BC are in pole position to bag the Junior Purple League 2017 Division 1 crown after an intense 15-9 victory over contenders and defending champions, Petaling BC during day 1 of the league’s final leg at Sports Arena Puchong today.

Deemed as a potential title decider, Cheras BC drew first blood in the match up through boys’ singles player, Aidil Sholeh Ali Sadikin who defeated Chia Wei Jie 3-1 (7-11, 11-9, 11-4, 11-7).

Then, their girls’ doubles pair of Benyapa Aimsaard/Nuntakarn Aimsaard edged Petaling BC’s Nathakorn Jaiareree/Suprapich Silprakob 3-2 (8-11, 11-7, 9-11, 11-5, 11-9) to extend their team’s lead and take bragging rights in the battle between the two Thai pairs.

Cheras BC’s Ng Wan Win/V.Roobenraj then overcame Erika Vallensia/Kwek Yee Jian in the mixed doubles match with a slim 3-2 (11-6, 9-11, 11-3, 5-11, 11-6) win before girls’ singles player N.Saranya claimed another 3-2 (7-11, 11-6, 11-10, 5-11, 11-10) win, this time over Ornicha Jongsathapornparn to put the score beyond Petaling BC’s reach.

In the last game, brothers Muhd Amar Mohd Sani/Muhd Amir Mohd Sani rubbed salt into Petaling BC’s wounds with a come from behind 3-2 (6-11, 6-11, 11-8, 11-9, 11-4) victory over Lim Yik Fong/Man Wei Chong.

1996 Olympic bronze medallist, Rashid Sidek who is also Cheras BC’s owner and head coach remained humble after the win and urged his charges to stay focussed for their remaining two matches.

Rashid said, “Cheras BC has a very balanced squad in all categories for the title run in but it is important to stay cautious as well as keep the winning momentum going to get the points in our remaining two matches tomorrow”.

“It is vital for the players to continue performing as usual without any unnecessary pressure because of the team’s current position and form. They will have to give only their best to achieve the ultimate prize of winning our first JPL title,” he added.

Rashid was also pleased with how his team is performing this season compared to the previous editions thanks to some solid additions and tactical training.

“Most of our players are from the Sports Affairs academy which is also under my watch whereas the rest are promising local talents and two from Thailand,” concluded Rashid after the match.

In other Division 1 action today, Bandar Maharani BC climbed to second spot with a 13-6 win over Petaling Jaya BC, Ampang Jaya BC defeated Puchong United BC 15-4 and Serdang BC remained winless after another heavy defeat, going down 12-3 to Rawang BC.

Meanwhile in Division 2, Bukit Cheras BC is at the brink of claiming the title and promotion with a match to go as they thrashed newcomers Bukit Gambir BC 15-2. Georgetown BC sit in second spot followed by Ayer Itam BC heading into tomorrow’s final match day.

JPL2017 will close its curtain on yet another entertaining season tomorrow (1st October 2017) at the same venue after the Division 1 teams take to court at 9am and 3pm whereas the Division 2 teams battle it out one final time at 12 pm.

JPL 2017 Final Leg Results (Saturday, 30/9/2017)

(Division 2)
Bangsar Hawks BC bt Bukit Gambir BC (9-8)
Ayer Itam BC bt Desa Petaling Eagle BC (11-8)
Amanjaya BC lost to Georgetown BC (7-10)
Subang BC bt Tebrau City BC (10-9)

(Division 1)
Cheras BC bt Petaling BC (15-9)
Bandar Maharani BC bt Petaling Jaya BC (13-6)
Ampang Jaya BC bt Puchong United BC (15-4)
Rawang BC bt Serdang BC (12-3)

(Division 2)
Bukit Cheras BC bt Bukit Gambir BC (15-2)
Bangsar Hawks BC lost to Desa Petaling Eagle BC (3-12)
Ayer Itam BC lost to Georgetown BC (7-9)
Amanjaya BC bt Subang BC (9-6)

JPL 2017 Final Leg Fixtures (Sunday, 1/10/2017)

9am (Division 1)
Kepong BC vs Petaling BC
Cheras BC vs Petaling Jaya BC
Bandar Maharani BC vs Puchong United BC
Ampang Jaya BC vs Rawang BC

12pm (Division 2)
Bukit Cheras BC vs Desa Petaling Eagle BC
Bangsar Hawks BC vs Georgetown BC
Ayer Itam BC vs Subang BC
Amanjaya BC vs Tebrau City BC

3pm (Division 1)
Kepong BC vs Petaling Jaya BC
Cheras BC vs Puchong United BC
Bandar Maharani BC vs Rawang BC
Ampang Jaya BC vs Serdang BC