MBPJ Tigers claw SSTMI Thunderbolts

By April 24, 2017 Newsroom

Petaling Jaya (23 April, 2017): Division One leaders Majlis Bandaraya Petaling Jaya Tigers came back from a goal down to crush 2016 League champions Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School Thunderbolt 3-2 in the TNBMalaysian Junior Hockey League at the MBPJ Stadium here today.

In an exciting and high pressure match that saw a near free-for-all between players from both sides after the hooter, it was SSTMI that shot into the lead with a 20th minute field goal through Amirul Firdaus before MBPJ Tigers struck back with three goals within a space of 18 minutes.

Muhammad Shafiq Izuddin equalised for MBPJ Tigers in the 29th minute via a field goal, Muhammad Syabil pounced on a deflection to put his side 2-1 ahead a minute later and Muhammad Nur Asyraf sealed it 3-1 in the 47th minute. SSTMI reduced the deficit 3-2 through Mohd Amirul five minute before the end from a penalty corner.

MBPJ Tigers lead the chart with 12 points – three clear of UniKL Young Guns and four points ahead of Bukit Jalil Sports School Thunderbolts.

“With no matches since Thursday, our momentum was affected by the break. We went into the game with the only target of winning it and the boys gave their best to come back after a goal down,” said MBPJ head coach Mohd Harfizi Baharom.

“I am happy we are able to maintain our lead at the top of the table standings with this win. It is never easy beating a powerful side such as SSTMI. The players were fully focused on winning three points and I am happy with their mental strength and commitment,” he added.

SSTMI coach, Wan Modd Roslan, said: “We had our good chances at scoring in the first and second halves. When you don’t take your chances this is the end result. We slipped into unnecessary pressure on ourselves and allowed our opponents to stay on top.”

In other Division One matches, Bukit Jalil Sports School Thunderbolt defeated their junior side 4-0 but Pahang Sports School Thunderbolt fell to a 1-0 defeat against Dato Bentara Luar Johor Juniors in Batu Pahat while Ipoh-based Anderson Thunderbolt survived a 3-2 penalty shootout victory against Olak-Nursafi after a 1-1 draw in regulation time.

In Malacca, Politeknik Malaysia-KPT triumphed 3-2 over Universiti Kuala Lumpur Young Guns.

In Division Two, Felda Juniors climbed to second in Group B on 12 points following a 9-0 thrashing of Malay College Kuala Kangsar whilst Malacca High School Young Hurricanes won 1-0 in penalty shootout against SMK Dato Bentara Luar Batu Pahat after a scoreless draw in regulation time.

SSTMI Juniors triumphed 10-0 against Johor Bahru District HA in Group C and Malacca Warriors edged SMK Dato Mohd Taha Gemencheh 3-1 at the Bukit Serindit Hockey Stadium.


Boys Division One: MBPJ Tiger 3 SSTMI Thunderbolt 2; Dato Bentara Luar Johor Juniors 1 Pahang Sports School 0; Politeknik Malaysia 3 Universiti Kuala Lumpur Young Guns 2; BJSS Thunderbolt 4 BJSS Junior 0; Anderson Thunderbolt 1 Olak Nurinsafi 1 (Anderson win 3-2 in penalty shootout).

Division 2 – Group B: Anderson Juniors 6 MISCF UFL 1; MCKK 0 Felda Juniors 9; SMK Dato Bentara Luar Batu Pahat 0 Malacca High School Young Hurricanes 0 (Hurricanes win 1-0 in penalty shootout).

Group C: SMK Dato Mohd Taha 1 MBMB Warriors 3; SSTMI Juniors 10 Johor Bahru HA 0.
Women League Group A: SSTMI 4 Convent Bukit Nanas HC 1; PSHA USM Juniors 0 MSN Kedah 4; Sabah Sports School Malaysia 0 KLSS Wipers 0 (Sabah win 3-2 in penalty shootout); Group B: PKS-Uniten-KPT 3 SMK Gunong Rapat 1; Johor Juniors 0 PSHA USM Juniors 3.