Nur Insafi and Police closer to final

By March 9, 2017 Newsroom

Kuala Lumpur (8 March, 2017): Muhamad Bilal Qadir scored a hat-trick as Nur Insafi cruised to a 6-2 victory over Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF Rajawali) in the TNBMHL President Cup first-leg semi-finals at the Tun Razak Stadium today.

The 22-year-old Pakistani, who featured for his nation in the 2016 Sultan of Johor Cup, scored in the 13th, 36th and 52nd minutes via field goals to take his tally to 10 goals in the tournament.

Nur Rahul Hrsikesa Thaitchana Muruthi (33rd), Aamir Shahzad (44th) and Muhammad Ateeq (50th) scored a piece for Nur Insafi. Mohd Zulfadli M. Rosley and Jamil Johari Ghazali scored for the airmen.

The Penang-based Nur Insafi, who gained promotion to the 2018 TNBMHL Premier League together with Royal Malaysian Police after emerging champion and runner-up in the Division One League respectively, has a four-goal advantage over RMAF Rajawali going into Friday’s return-leg semi-finals encounter.

“It was a little difficult getting the goals in the first half but we managed to make the breakthrough after the interval,” said Bilal. “But it’s not over yet and we have to keep scoring more goals as RMAF is expected to make a strong comeback on Friday.”

In the second semi-finals match, Royal Malaysian Police clawed back from an Ahmad Termidzi Ismail goal in the 10th minute to pull off a 6-3 win over Universiti Putra Malaysia-KPT.

The Cops hold a three-goal advantage for the second-leg semi-finals match on Friday following a hat-trick from Baljit Singh (44th, 54th and 60th minutes) today – making him the top scorer in the Division One league with 21 goals to his credit.

Dick Cheny Waili scored a double (20th and 34th minutes) and Mohd Razali Mohd Zulkipli (14th) netted the sixth goal for Police. UPM-KPT replied through a brace from Ahmad Termidzi Ismail (10th and 59th minutes) and a penalty corner effort from Amir Zulkarnain Ahmad Robangi (15th).

Results – President Cup First-leg Semi-finals: Nur Insafi 6 RMAF Rajawali 2; Royal Malaysian Police 6 Universiti Putra Malaysia-KPT 3.

Vivian May Soars Cup – First Leg Semi-Finals: Blue Warriors 1 PKS-Uniten-KPT 1.

Friday (10 March) – President Cup Second-Leg Semi-Finals: UPM-KPT v Police (5pm); RMAF Rajawali v Nur Insafi (7pm, both matches at Stadium Tun Razak).

Vivian May Soars Cup Second-Leg Semi-Finals: PKS-Uniten-KPT v Blue Warriors (5pm); Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School v Terengganu Ladies Hockey Team (7pm, both matches at Ministry of Education Stadium (Jalan Pantai).