Nur Insafi survive Politeknik scare

By March 6, 2017 Newsroom

Terengganu Ladies Hockey Team emerge Women League champions

Kuala Lumpur (4 March, 2017): Division One League champions Nur Insafi joined Royal Malaysian Police, Universiti Putra Malaysia-KPT and Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF Rajawali) into the semi-finals of the TNBMHL 2017 President Cup.

Penang-based Nur Insafi survived a nail-biting 2-2 draw against Politeknik Malaysia-KPT in the second-leg quarterfinals clash today and then triumphed 3-2 in penalty shootout to setup a showdown with RMAF Rajawali in Wednesday’s semi-finals.

The first-leg semi-final match between Nur Insafi and Politeknik Malaysia-KPT also ended in a 1-1 draw in regulation time.

RMAF Rajawali, who defeated Majlis Bandaraya Petaling Jaya (MBPJ) 2-1 in the first leg encounter on Thursday, were held to a 1-1 draw in the return leg and squeezed through the last four on 3-2 aggregate.

In other quarterfinal matches, Royal Malaysian Police edged Johor 3-1 (aggregate 10-4) whilst Universiti Putra Malaysia subdued Bukit Jalil Sports School 7-3 (aggregate 8-4) to book semi-finals spots.

“We have realised our target of qualifying for the semi-finals and that is very important in our mission,” said UPM-KPT head coach Azlansaufi Ahmad Supian. “I am proud of my boys fighting spirit in the second-leg match. Now we have to brace for a very tough semi-final tie against Police. We lost 3-2 against them in the league and we know what to do on Wednesday,” he added.

Meanwhile, Terengganu Ladies Hockey Team (TLHT) was crowned 2017 Women League champions after defeating Johor Bahru District HA 5-0 in their last preliminary round match. TLHT pooled 28 points (nine wins and one draw) – seven points clear of Blue Warriors (Royal Malaysian Police) and eight ahead of third-placed PKS-Uniten-KPT.

Bandar Penawar-based Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School (SSTMI) finished fourth in the league by amassing nine points from two wins, three drawn matches and five defeats.

TLHT also won RM20, 000 as league champions and Blue Warriors took home RM10,000. PKS-Uniten-KPT bagged RM5,000.

Blue Warriors defeated Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School 4-0 and PKS-Uniten-KPT, led by 10 national players who competed in the recent Hockey World League Round 2 in Kuala Lumpur, trounced Kulim 12-1.

In Wednesday’s first-leg semi-finals matchups for the Vivian May Soars Cup, TLHT will go head to head against SSTMI whilst Blue Warriors takes on PKS-Uniten-KPT. Both matches will be played at the Ministry of Education Hockey Stadium on Jalan Pantai.

Results – President Cup Quarterfinals 2nd Leg: Bukit Jalil Sports School 3 Universiti Putra Malaysia-KPT 7 (UPM-KPT won 8-4 on aggregate); RMAF Rajawali 1 MBPJ 1 (RMAF Rajawali won 3-2 on aggregate); Politeknik Malaysia 2 Nur Insafi 2 (Nur Insafi won 3-2 in penalty shootout); Police 3 Johor 1 (Police won 10-4 on aggregate).

Semi-finals (Wednesday, 8 March): Nur Insafi v RMAF Rajawali (5pm); UPM-KPT v Royal Malaysian Police (7pm). Both matches at Stadium Tun Razak.

Results – Women League – Blue Warriors 4 SSTMI 0; Kulim 1 PKS-Uniten-KPT 12; Terengganu Ladies Hockey Team 5 Johor Bahru District HA 0

Vivian May Soars Cup Semi-finals (Wednesday, 8 March): Terengganu Ladies Hockey Team v Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School (5pm); Blue Warriors v PKS-Uniten-KPT (7pm). Both matches at Ministry of Education Stadium