Petaling Jaya BC Crowned SSPL 2016/17 Champions!

By February 12, 2017 February 16th, 2017 Newsroom

GENTING HIGHLANDS (12 FEBRUARY, 2017): Petaling Jaya BC is in dreamland after being crowned champions of the SS Purple League (SSPL) 2016/17 season as they beat a star-studded Puchong United BC side 13-9 in the SS Purple League (SSPL) 2016/17 Final at the Arena of Stars, Resorts World Genting earlier today.

Petaling Jaya almost got off to a dream start after their men’s singles player, Dani Harsheel Alpesh raced to a two set lead in the first men’s singles match. But his Puchong United opponent, Chou Tien Chen clawed his way back into the game as he bounced back and claim a 3-2 win over the spirited Dani Harsheel.

World Number 1, Tai Tzu Ying too suffered a similar scare as she went two sets down to Petaling’s Deng Xuan in their women’s singles match. However she regained her composure to take the match 3-2 and put Puchong 2 points ahead of their opponents.

But it was Petaling Jaya who reclaimed the lead after the men’s doubles match thanks to their pair, Kim Sa Rang and Koo Kien Keat. The two continued their excellent partnership as the charismatic Sa Rang complemented Kien Keat’s aggressive style of play to gun down their Puchong United opponents, Lim Khim Wah and Tan Chee Tean in straight sets (3-0).

And that proved to be the turning point for Petaling Jaya as they went on to win the next two games to record a famous victory and secure their first SSPL trophy.

Woon Khe Wei and Shin Baek Cheol recorded a priceless 3-1 victory over their Puchong United opponents Christinna Pedersen and Yoo Yeon Seong in the mixed doubles match. Needing only to win one point in the last match, it was captain Goh Giap Chin who once again delivered the championship point for Petaling Jaya as he won his match against Soo Teck Zhi 3-2.

“It is a fantastic feeling to win because we are the underdogs and we managed to beat teams like Petaling, BU Dragons and now Puchong United who all have superstars in their respective teams. But we have hardworking players who possess the ‘never-say-die’ attitude such as Giap Chin, Koo Kien Keat who led by example and Deng Xuan who contributed vital points for us,” said Petaling Jaya’s team manager, Manoj Kumar.

Earlier, last year’s champions Muar BC pipped BU Dragons BC to third place after coming out on top in their SSPL 2016/17 3rd/4th Playoff match today at the Arena of Stars, Resorts World Genting. Led by captain, Zulfadli Zukiffli, Muar won the match comfortably with a 11-6 score line.

He got the ball rolling for the Johor side after edging BU Dragons’ Danish international, Emil Holst by the narrowest of margins (3-2) in their first men’s singles match. However BU Dragons’ American import, Zhang Beiwen restored parity for her team beating Muar’s Shen Ya Ying 3-2 as well.

Muar’s star man and Korean international, Lee Yong Dae helped put his side in cruise control after the men’s doubles match. Yong Dae alongside Tan Wee Gieen beat BU Dragons’ Mak Hee Chun and Ou Xuanyi in straight sets.

Chan Peng Soon and Lee Hyo Jung then wrapped up then win for their Muar side after overcoming BU Dragons’ Chow Pak Chuu and Yap Zhen in the mixed doubles match, winning the match 3-1.

“As defending champions, we are obviously not satisfied with third place because we aimed to retain our title. But whatever the outcome we are glad to fight as a team in the Muar BC side,” said Muar’s team manager, M. Jivannathan.

SS Purple League 2016/17 Stage 2 Results

Final (2pm)

Puchong United BC lost to Petaling Jaya BC 9-13
MS1: Chou Tien Chen bt Dani Harsheel Alpesh 3-2 (6-11, 8-11, 11-3, 11-7, 11-8)
WS: Tai Tzu Ying bt Deng Xuan 3-2 (10-11, 9-11, 11-9, 11-8, 5-0)
MD: Lim Khim Wah-Tan Chee Tean lost to Kim Sarang-Koo Kien Keat 0-3 (5-11, 9-11, 9-11)
XD: Christinna Pedersen-Yoo Yeon Seong lost to Shin Baek Cheol-Woon Khe Wei 1-3 (11-5, 8-11, 9-11, 8-9)
MS2: Soo Teck Zhi lost to Goh Giap Chin 2-3 (4-11, 8-11, 11-7, 11-9, 8-11)
3rd/4th Playoff (10am)

Muar BC bt BU Dragons BC 11-6
MS1: Zulfadli Zulkiffli bt Emil Holst 3-2 (9-11, 11-8, 4-11, 11-8, 2-1)
WS: Shen Ya Ying lost to Zhang Beiwen 2-3 (8-11, 10-11, 11-10, 11-5, 7-11)
MD: Lee Yong Dae-Tan Wee Gieen bt Mak Hee Chun-Ou Xuanyi 3-0 (11-8, 11-7, 11-9)
XD: Chan Peng Soon-Lee Hyo Jung bt Chow Pak Chuu-Yap Zhen 3-1 (11-9, 6-11, 11-9, 11-6)

Roll of Honour

Champions: Petaling Jaya BC
Runners-up: Puchong United BC
Second Runners-up: Muar BC
Third Runners-up: BU Dragons BC
Fifth Place: Petaling BC
Sixth Place: Ampang Jaya BC
Seventh Place: Kepong BC
Eighth Place: Serdang BC
Ninth Place: Bangsar Hawks BC
Tenth Place: Klang City BC