Top Six Clubs Confirmed for Stage 2

By January 8, 2017 January 9th, 2017 Newsroom

KUALA LUMPUR (8 January, 2017): The stage is set for Stage 2 of the SS Purple League (SSPL) 2016/17 after Petaling Jaya BC became the last team to confirm their spot among the top six clubs of Stage 1 earlier today at the Kuala Lumpur Badminton Stadium, Cheras.

Needing only two points to confirm their qualification, Petaling Jaya did so convincingly by beating an under-strength Serdang BC side 13-5 to snap their four-game losing streak.

Led by captain Goh Giap Chin, Petaling Jaya breezed through their first three matches without even breaking sweat as their men’s singles, women’s singles and men’s doubles won their respective matches in straight sets.

Their mixed doubles’ pair of Tang Chun Man and Woon Khe Wei did ran into a little bit of trouble in their match against Serdang’s Ooi Zi Heng and Yap Cheng Wen but managed to cross the finish line as they registered a 3-2 win.

Serdang managed to collect some consolation points in the last match as their Chinese import upset Petaling Jaya’s Thai international, Khosit Phetpradab 3-1 during the second men’s singles match.

“Overall it was a good game, but I am slightly disappointed that we could not win our last match. But I have to congratulate the players as they did the best that they could. We will now go back to the drawing board and rectify our weaknesses so that we can achieve our aim in Genting, which is to win the SSPL 2016/17,” said Petaling Jaya’s head coach, Yeoh Kay Lun.

Meanwhile, Kepong BC ended their SSPL2016/17 Stage 1 campaign on a positive note after beating bottom club, Klang City BC 11-7 during their 12pm match earlier today. The outcome of the match would not have made any difference to the top six as both clubs struggled throughout the Stage 1 phase.

The top six clubs – Muar BC, Puchong United BC, Ampang Jaya BC, BU Dragons BC, Petaling BC and Petaling Jaya will be playing for the coveted SSPL 2016/17 trophy in Genting Highlands next month, from the 9 to 12 February.

The bottom four clubs – Kepong BC, Serdang BC, Bangsar Hawks BC and Klang City BC will be playing playoff matches to determine their final places.

First (Muar BC) and second placed teams will receive a bye while the other four clubs will play playoffs whereby the winners of the matches will meet the top two teams in the semi-final. A draw will be held this Wednesday at Pearl International Hotel, Kuala Lumpur to determine who plays who.

SSPL 2016/17 Result (8 January 2017)
(4pm) Petaling Jaya BC bt Serdang BC 13-5
MS2: Goh Giap Chin bt Derek Yeoh 3-0 (11-5, 11-5, 11-3)
WS: Deng Xuan bt Shen Yabing 3-0 (11-9, 11-8, 11-9)
MD: Koo Kien Keat-Or Chin Chung bt Ong Wei Khoon-Sim Fong Hau 3-0 (11-5, 11-5, 11-4)
XD: Tang Chun Man-Woon Khe Wei bt Ooi Zi Heng-Yap Cheng Wen 3-2 (11-8, 11-7, 9-11, 10-11, 6-5)
MS1: Khosit Phetpradab lost to Yu Chen 1-3 (3-11, 11-7, 6-11, 6-11)

(12pm) Klang City BC lost to Kepong BC 7-11
MS2: Muhd Umar Al-Qhatab lost to Lim Chi Wing 0-3 (9-11, 3-11, 4-11)
WS: Thinaah Muralitharan bt Moe Araki 3-0 (11-8, 11-8, 11-0 Retired)
MD: Low Hang Yee-Tan Swee Seng lost to Hendra Aprida Gunawan-Mohd Razif Ab Latif 0-3 (2-11, 7-11, 2-11)
XD: Muhammad Sufiyuddin-Tan Sueh Jeou lost to Peck Yen Wei-Tan Chee Tean 1-3 (8-11, 7-11, 11-10, 10-11)
MS1: Chin Wai Kin bt Thongnuam Pannawit 3-2 (11-5, 11-8, 9-11, 9-11, 6-3)