Muar BC Tops the Lot!

By January 5, 2017 January 9th, 2017 Newsroom

KUALA LUMPUR (5 January, 2017): Muar BC strengthened their position at the summit of the SS Purple League (SSPL) with a big 14-4 win over Bangsar Hawks BC side during their SSPL 2016/17 match earlier today at the Kuala Lumpur Badminton Stadium, Cheras.

With that result, Muar has mathematically qualified to the Stage 2 of the SSPL 2016/17 as one of the top six teams.
The Johor side race straight out of the blocks to record a 6-0 lead after taking both the men’s singles and women’s singles match in straight sets. Tan Chun Seang easily defeated his Bangsar Hawks’ men’s singles counterpart, Chian Chin Yong while the Hawks’ Lee Ying Ying tasted defeat for the first time this season at the hands of Muar’s Indonesian import, Rusydina Antardayu in the women’s singles match.

Irfan Fadhilah and Mohamad Syazmil Idham managed to provide a temporary spark for their Bangsar Hawks team as they beat the more experienced pair of Hoon Thien How and Teo Kok Siang 3-2.

But it was all over for the Hawks as they could not keep up the momentum going into the mixed doubles match. Joyce Choong and Pei Tian Yi fell 1-3 to Muar’s Olympic medallists, Chan Peng Soon and Korean, Lee Hyo Jung.

Lee Hyun Il wrapped up the game with a comfortable straight sets win over Bangsar Hawks’ Thomi Azizan Mahbub in the second men’s singles match.

“We initially aimed to collect 13 to 14 points from today’s match, so we are glad that we achieved that and confirmed our qualification to Stage 2,” said said Muar’s head coach and Indonesian international, Nova Armada.

“However, we will not take it easy in our last match against a strong Puchong United side as we aim to finish Stage 1 in the top 2 spots. We will name our strongest line-up,” added Nova.

SSPL 2016/17 Result (5 January 2017)
(4pm) Bangsar Hawks BC lost to Muar BC 4-14
MS2: Chian Chin Yong lost to Tan Chun Seang 0-3 (3-11, 8-11, 2-11)
WS: Lee Ying Ying lost to Rusydina Antardayu 0-3 (4-11, 8-11, 7-11)
MD: Irfan Fadhilah-Mohamad Syazmil Idham bt Hoon Thien How-Teo Kok Siang 3-2 (11-8, 11-9, 7-11, 5-11, 6-3)
XD: Joyce Choong-Pei Tian Yi lost to Chan Peng Soon-Lee Hyo Jung 1-3 (11-10, 6-11, 9-11, 4-11)
MS1: Thomi Azizan Mahbub lost to Lee Hyun Il 0-3 (3-11, 3-11, 4-11)

SSPL 2016/17 Fixtures (5 January 2017)
(8pm) Puchong United BC vs Petaling BC