First Draw of the SSPL 2016/17

By January 5, 2017 January 9th, 2017 Newsroom

KUALA LUMPUR (5 January, 2017): Petaling BC and Puchong United BC produced the first draw (9-9) of the SS Purple League 2016/17 season as the two giants clashed during their SSPL 2016/17 8pm match at the Kuala Lumpur Badminton Stadium, Cheras.

Desperately in need of points to overtake Puchong United, who sits one spot ahead of them, Petaling got off to a wonderful start after their Japanese import, Kenichi Tago beat Puchong United’s Chong Wei Feng in the men’s singles match. Tago, who is in fine form, continued his 100% record as he won the match 2-1.

However, Puchong United bounced straight back in the next match – the women’s singles – as their Chinese international, Pan Lu dismantled Petaling’s Lim Yin Fun in straight sets to give her side the lead.

The men’s doubles pair of Lee Yang and Ong Yew Sin extended Puchong United’s lead as they defeated Petaling’s Indonesian pair of Agripinna Prima Ramanto and Andrei Adistia 3-1.

It was Petaling who took the mixed doubles match as they narrowed the margin of the overall score. Chen Tang Jie and Olympic gold medallist Zhao Yunlei beat Puchong United’s Goh Liu Ying and Lim Khim Wah 3-1 to ensure that Petaling did not go down without a fight.

With all to play for, Malaysia’s number 2, Iskandar Zulkarnain managed to beat Puchong United’s Chou Tien Chen 3-1. However, the result meant that the game could only end in a draw, a fitting end to the match as both teams played some superb badminton.

“I praise my players for overcoming the odds to achieve this result. Even though we might be in a comfortable position, and with the addition of Datuk Wira Lee Chong Wei, I hope that we can still finish well before the start of Stage 2,” said Petaling’s singles’ coach, Ismail Saman.

Meanwhile, Muar BC strengthened their position at the summit of the SSPL with a big 14-4 win over Bangsar Hawks BC side during their match earlier today at the Kuala Lumpur Badminton Stadium, Cheras.

With that result, Muar has mathematically qualified to the Stage 2 of the SSPL 2016/17 as one of the top six teams.
The Johor side race straight out of the blocks to record a 6-0 lead after taking both the men’s singles and women’s singles match in straight sets. Tan Chun Seang easily defeated his Bangsar Hawks’ men’s singles counterpart, Chian Chin Yong while the Hawks’ Lee Ying Ying tasted defeat for the first time this season at the hands of Muar’s Indonesian import, Rusydina Antardayu in the women’s singles match.

Irfan Fadhilah and Mohamad Syazmil Idham managed to provide a temporary spark for their Bangsar Hawks team as they beat the more experienced pair of Hoon Thien How and Teo Kok Siang 3-2.

But it was all over for the Hawks as they could not keep up the momentum going into the mixed doubles match. Joyce Choong and Pei Tian Yi fell 1-3 to Muar’s Olympic medallists, Chan Peng Soon and Korean, Lee Hyo Jung.

Lee Hyun Il wrapped up the game with a comfortable straight sets win over Bangsar Hawks’ Thomi Azizan Mahbub in the second men’s singles match.

“We initially aimed to collect 13 to 14 points from today’s match, so we are glad that we achieved that and confirmed our qualification to Stage 2,” said said Muar’s head coach and Indonesian international, Nova Armada.

“However, we will not take it easy in our last match against a strong Puchong United side as we aim to finish Stage 1 in the top 2 spots. We will name our strongest line-up,” added Nova.

SSPL 2016/17 Result (5 January 2017)
(8pm) Puchong United BC drew with Petaling BC 9-9
MS2: Chong Wei Feng lost to Kenichi Tago 1-2 (10-11, 8-11, 11-10)
WS: Pan Lu bt Lim Yin Fun 3-0 (11-3, 11-10, 11-10)
MD: Lee Yang-Ong Yew Sin bt Agripinna Prima Ramanto-Andrei Adistia 3-1 (7-11, 11-7, 11-9, 9-8)
XD: Goh Liu Ying-Lim Khim Wah lost to Chen Tang Jie-Zhao Yunlei 1-3 (9-11, 6-11, 11-6, 10-11)
MS1: Chou Tien Chen lost to Iskandar Zulkarnain 1-3 (11-5, 9-11, 9-11, 3-5)

(4pm) Bangsar Hawks BC lost to Muar BC 4-14
MS2: Chian Chin Yong lost to Tan Chun Seang 0-3 (3-11, 8-11, 2-11)
WS: Lee Ying Ying lost to Rusydina Antardayu 0-3 (4-11, 8-11, 7-11)
MD: Irfan Fadhilah-Mohamad Syazmil Idham bt Hoon Thien How-Teo Kok Siang 3-2 (11-8, 11-9, 7-11, 5-11, 6-3)
XD: Joyce Choong-Pei Tian Yi lost to Chan Peng Soon-Lee Hyo Jung 1-3 (11-10, 6-11, 9-11, 4-11)
MS1: Thomi Azizan Mahbub lost to Lee Hyun Il 0-3 (3-11, 3-11, 4-11)