Bragging Rights for Petaling BC

By December 30, 2016 December 31st, 2016 Newsroom

KUALA LUMPUR (30 December, 2016): Petaling BC secured bragging rights after emerging triumphant over fellow Petaling rivals, Petaling Jaya BC 11-7 in their SS Purple League 2016/17 match today at Gem in Mall, Cyberjaya.

Petaling raced straight out of the blocks to secure a six point lead over their Petaling compatriots as Kenichi Tago and Lim Yin Fun cruised past their opponents, Satheishtharan and Sarita Suwannakitborihan in straight sets.

In the highlight of the match, Petaling’s men’s doubles pair of Andrei Adistia and Chen Tang Jie came back from being two sets down tow win their match against Petaling Jaya’s Koo Kien Keat and Or Chin Chung 3-2 (8-11, 7-11, 11-2, 11-9, 10-6) – a result which clinched Petaling’s third win of the season.

With territorial pride at stake, Petaling Jaya’s Supanida Katethong and Tang Chun Man ensured that their team remains above their Petaling opponents in the standings until the next round of matches by beating Agripinna Prima Ramanto and Devi Tika Permatasari 3-0 (11-9, 11-6, 11-7).

The second men’s singles match between Petaling’s Liew Daren and Goh Giap Chin ended in a 2-2 draw.

“It was worrying after we lost to Kepong 5-13 in the last game and that is when we knew we had to change things up as we knew we were playing Petaling Jaya who is in first place. I am proud of my players’ performances today and to get the win is a good achievement. However to get 11 points from a strong side is definitely a bonus,” said Petaling’s head coach, Yap Kim Hock.

Petaling Jaya remains on top of the SSPL 2016/17 standings despite losing two matches in a row while Petaling overtook Puchong United BC to second place.

Meanwhile, Bangsar Hawks BC recorded their first win of the SSPL 2016/17 season after overcoming tournament heavyweights and favourites, Ampang Jaya BC 11-10 in their 4pm match earlier today at Gem in Mall, Cyberjaya.

Ampang Jaya started the match looking to prove a point as their first men’s singles, Thai international Suppanyu Avihingsanon easily dispatched his Bangsar Hawks opponent, Wan Chia Hsin 3-0 (11-9, 11-9, 11-4).

Despite trailing early on, Bangsar Hawks quickly levelled the overall score at six apiece thanks to Lee Ying Ying’s 3-2 (6-11, 11-7, 10-11, 11-6, 1-0) win over Ho Yen Mei in the women’s singles match and Irfan Fadhilah-Loh Kean Hean’s 3-1 (11-6, 10-11, 11-5, 11-9) win over Ampang Jaya’s pair of Lukhi Nugroho-Muhammad Syawal.

The men’s pair of Indonesia international Irfan and Loh from Singapore, who was making their season debut, managed to defy the odds and defeat the more experienced pair of Syawal and Lukhi.

“It was a good win for us but a nervy one as well. It got tensed after we lost the second set. But we regrouped and composed ourselves to get the win,” said Loh.

Having momentum on their side, Bangsar Hawks marched into the mixed doubles match full of confidence. Despite coming up against one half of the world number 12 men’s doubles pair and Danish international Kim Astrup on the opposing end, the pair of Joyce Choong and Chinese international Pei Tian Yi finished off Ampang Jaya’s Astrup and his partner, Anna Cheong 3-1 (11-7, 8-11, 11-10, 11-6). The win gave the Hawks a two point advantage on the overall score.

With all to play for in the second men’s singles match, Du Yu Hang duly delivered the vital points to secure Bangsar Hawk’s first win of the season and condemned Ampang Jaya to their third successive defeats.
However, the Chinese international lost his match 2-3 (5-11, 5-11, 11-7 11-6 4-11) to Ampang Jaya’s Hong Kong import.

“It is a very big surprise for us to win today. So I am definitely very happy with our first win. Our coaching staffs are happy, and so are my players,” said Bangsar Hawks’ team manager, Abdul Hafidz Win.

“We have our strongest lineup today with the inclusion of Irfan and Loh who delivered us vital points in the men’s doubles match. It will definitely further motivate our team to go on and face another giant, Puchong United BC tomorrow,” said Abdul Hafidz.

Johor side, Muar BC capped off yesterday’s SSPL2016/17 action by beating an in-form Kepong BC side 12-6.

The first three ties of the match all ended in a 2-2 draw until Muar’s Indonesian mixed doubles pair, Ardiansyah Putra and Vitamarissa broke the deadlock in their match. They performed tremendously under pressure to beat their opponents Chayanit Chaladchalam and Mohd Razif Ab Latif 3-0 (11-7, 11-10, 11-5) which put Muar in a commanding position.

Korean singles specialist, Lee Hyun Il then clinched the victory for Muar as he easily beat Kepong’s Thai import, Thongnuam Pannawit 3-0 (11-8, 11-3, 11-7).

The win further strengthens Muar’s position in fifth spot while Kepong dropped one spot to seventh.

SSPL 2016/17 Results (30 December 2016)
(8pm) Petaling Jaya BC lost to Petaling BC 7-11
MS2: Satheishtharan lost to Kenichi Tago 0-3 (8-11, 4-11, 5-11)
WS: Sarita Suwannakitborihan lost to Lim Yin Fun 0-3 (4-11, 10-11, 6-11)
MD: Koo Kien Keat-Or Chin Chung lost to Andrei Adistia-Chen Tang Jie 2-3 (11-8, 11-7, 2-11, 9-11, 6-10)
XD: Supanida Katethong-Tang Chun Man bt Agripinna Prima Ramanto-Devi Tika Permatasari 3-0 (11-9, 11-6, 11-7)
MS1: Goh Giap Chin drew with Liew Daren 2-2 (5-11, 9-11, 11-8, 3-1)

(4pm) Bangsar Hawks BC bt Ampang Jaya BC 11-10
MS2: Wan Chia Hsin lost to Suppanyu Avihingsanon 0-3 (9-11, 9-11, 4-11)
WS: Lee Ying Ying bt Ho Yen Mei 3-2 (6-11, 11-7, 10-11, 11-6, 1-0)
MD: Irfan Fadhilah-Loh Kean Hean bt Lukhi Nugroho-Muhammad Syawal 3-1 (11-6, 10-11, 11-5, 11-9)
XD: Joyce Choong-Pei Tian Yi bt Anna Cheong-Kim Astrup 3-1 (11-7, 8-11, 11-10, 11-6)
MS1: Du Yu Hang lost to Lee Cheuk Yiu 2-3 (5-11, 5-11, 11-7, 11-6, 4-11)

SSPL 2016/17 Results (29 December 2016)
(8pm) Muar BC bt Kepong BC 12-6
MS2: Zulfadli Zulkiffli drew with Lim Chi Wing 2-2 (6-11, 11-8, 11-7, 3-6)
WS: Saena Kawakami drew with Ongbamrungphan Busanan 2-2 (11-10, 7-11, 11-8, 0-1)
MD: Teo Ee Yi-Teo Kok Siang drew with Rasmussen Anders-Tan Chee Tean 2-2 (11-9, 5-11, 8-11, 7-6)
XD: Ardiansyah Putra-Vitamarissa bt Chayanit Chaladchalam-Mohd Razif Ab Latif 3-0 (11-7, 11-10, 11-5)
MS1: Lee Hyun Il bt Thongnuam Pannawit 3-0 (11-8, 11-3, 11-7)