Petaling Jaya BC Leads the Pack

By December 24, 2016 December 28th, 2016 Newsroom

KUALA LUMPUR (24 December, 2016): Petaling Jaya BC preserved their 100% winning record of the SS Purple League 2016/17 season by beating Bangsar Hawks 13-6 earlier today at Gem in Mall, Cyberjaya.

Petaling Jaya was already in fine form going into the match having beaten the likes of Kepong BC, Ampang Jaya BC and Klang City BC in previous rounds.

Their men’s singles player, Satheishtharan himself preserved his personal 100% winning record of the season as he breezed past the younger, Muhammad Syafiq 3-1 (10-11, 11-7, 11-6, 9-7) in the first match of the tie.

However, Bangsar Hawks was quick to cancel out the lead thanks to their women’s singles, Lee Ying Ying. The 19-year old has been impressive in all the matches she has played in so far. And she showed no signs of slowing down after defeating Petaling Jaya’s Thai import, Supanida Katethong 3-1 (11-10, 10-11, 11-9, 4-2).

The old and wise heads of Petaling Jaya’s Bodin Issara and Koo Kien Keat were key in their 3-1 (9-11, 11-7, 11-5, 11-4) win over Bangsar Hawks’ Mohamad Syazmil Idham and Muhammad Amzzar – a win that was vital in giving Petaling Jaya some breathing space.

Petaling Jaya’s mixed doubles pair of Nipitphon Phuangphuapet and Prajaktha Sawant then secured the win for Petaling Jaya after they crushed Bangsar Hawks’ Du Yu Hang and Joyce Choong 3-0 (11-6, 11-6, 11-3) in their match.

Goh Giap Chin then extended Petaling Jaya’s win margin as he defeated Chang Lip Seng of Bangsar Hawks in the second men’s singles match, winning 3-1 (10-11, 11-4, 11-5, 11-5).

“I am still not satisfied with my own performance because my opponent today is my junior and we train together. So we know each other’s strengths and weaknesses. I should have done better in that sense. But I am still happy to contribute to my team,” said Petaling Jaya’s men’s singles, Satheishtharan

“I hope my teammates can keep up the good team spirit which I think is the backbone to Petaling Jaya’s success at the moment. It doesn’t matter if one of us loses, we always support and motivate each other,” added Satheishtharan

Meanwhile, Muar BC made sure they go into the Christmas break on a high as they cruised past Serdang BC 12-6 during the SSPL 2016/17 match earlier today at Gem in Mall, Cyberjaya.

The win was a major boost to the star studded Muar BC team after suffering two defeats in a row.

The Johor side did not have the best of starts after their men singles’ player, Tan Chun Seang fell to a shock defeat to Serdang’s youngster, Lee Zii Jia 2-3 (11-5, 11-4, 7-11, 7-11, 3-4) in the first match of the tie. However, Muar was handed a lucky break as they secured 3 points in the women’s singles match due to a walkover.

Hoon Thien How and Teo Kok Siang then capitalised by beating Serdang’s Ooi Zi Heng and Tseng Min Hao in straight sets 3-0 (11-5, 11-10, 11-8) to further extend Muar’s lead.

Serdang’s resurgent in the mixed doubles match looked to have boosted their chances of getting something out of the game. Their pair of Afiat Yuris Wirawan and Yap Cheng Wen performed heroically to defeat Ardiansyah Putra and Lee Meng Yean of Muar 3-1 (11-6, 7-11, 11-8, 11-10).

Needing to win 3-0 in the last match to at least tie the game, Serdang’s Lu Chia Hung instead fell to a 0-3 (7-11, 3-11, 8-11) reversal as he got easily outplayed by the more experienced Korean, Lee Hyun Il of Muar.

SSPL2016/17 Results (24 December 2016)
(12pm) Muar BC bt Serdang BC 12-6
MS2: Tan Chun Seang lost to Lee Zii Jia 2-3 (11-5, 11-4, 7-11, 7-11, 3-4)
WS: Rusydina Antardayu bt Lim Jee Lynn 3-0 (Walkover)
MD: Hoon Thien How-Teo Kok Siang bt Ooi Zi Heng-Tseng Min Hao 3-0 (11-5, 11-10, 11-8)
XD: Ardiansyah Putra-Lee Meng Yean lost to Afiat Yuris Wirawan-Yap Cheng Wen 1-3 (6-11, 11-7, 8-11, 10-11)
MS1: Lee Hyun Il bt Lu Chia Hung 3-0 (11-7, 11-3, 11-8)

(4pm) Petaling Jaya BC bt Bangsar Hawks BC 13-6
MS2: Satheishtharan bt Muhammad Syafiq 3-1 (10-11, 11-7, 11-6, 9-7)
WS: Supanida Katethong lost to Lee Ying Ying 1-3 (10-11, 11-10, 9-11, 2-4)
MD: Bodin Issara-Koo Kien Keat bt Mohamad Syazmil Idham-Muhammad Amzzar 3-1 (9-11, 11-7, 11-5, 11-4)
XD: Nipitphon Phuangphuapet-Prajaktha Sawant bt Du Yu Hang-Joyce Choong 3-0 (11-6, 11-6, 11-3)
MS1: Goh Giap Chin bt Chang Lip Seng 3-1 (10-11, 11-4, 11-5, 11-5)

SSPL2016/17 Results (23 December 2016)
(8pm) Petaling Jaya BC bt Ampang Jaya BC 14-6
MS2: Satheishtharan bt Suppanyu Avihingsanon 3-1 (11-7, 8-11, 11-9, 2-0)
WS: Deng Xuan bt Nitchaon Jindapol 3-1 (11-7, 8-11, 11-8, 4-2)
MD: Bodin Issara-Koo Kien Keat bt Lukhi Nugroho-Muhammad Syawal 3-1 (11-7, 10-11, 11-5, 7-3)
XD: Nipitphon Phuangphuapet-Woon Khe Wei bt Anna Cheong-Terry Hee Yong Kai 3-1 (11-2, 11-7, 3-11, 11-3)
MS1: Goh Giap Chin drew with Lee Cheuk Yiu 2-2 (10-11, 9-11, 11-10, 8-2)