BJSS inaugural Thunderbolts Cup champions

By November 6, 2016 November 16th, 2016 Newsroom

Bandar Penawar (6 November, 2016): Bukit Jalil Sports School (BJSS) slammed the brakes on high-riding Sabah Sports School Malaysia 7-1 to clinch the inaugural Thunderbolts Cup at the Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School Mini Hockey Stadium here today.

The Kuala Lumpur-based BJSS went firing on all cylinders against the East Malaysian state sports school as Muhammad Noor Firdaus knocked a hat-trick and Faiq Razin Zariz scored two goals while Ahmad Fauzan Ahmad Jauhari and Md Zulrasyad Hilmie added to Sabah Sports School misery with one goal each.

Forward Muhammad Noor Firdaus also received the tournament’s top scorer award with five goals to his credit.
Nasrul Syakhir Sadikul replied for Sabah Sports School via a field goal in the 28th minute after BJSS had taken 2-0 lead at the end of the first quarter.

The Sabah Sports School, who finished second in Group B behind BJSS, had broke the hearts of hockey-loving SSTMI fans by registering 3-2 win in the semi-finals.

SSTMI, the 2016 TNB National Junior League champions, finished third following a 4-2 win over SMK Datuk Bentara Luar, Batu Pahat – the Johor state hockey development project school in the playoff for the bronze medal.

Held in conjunction with the 2016 Sultan of Johor Cup, the Thunderbolts Cup is organised as a platform to serve TNB’s development teams and identify new talents.

Apart from the four Thunderbolt teams sponsored by TNB – BJSS, Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School (SSTMI), SMK Anderson Ipoh and Pahang Sports School, the other teams competing are Sabah Sports School, Johor Sports School, Selangor and Singapore Development Squad.

The General Manager of Johor Tenaga Nasional Berhad (Development), Datuk Haji Baderul Sham Said, gave away the prizes. Also in attendance to witness the final were TNB Head of Sports Unit, Nur Saiful Zaini Nasiruddin, Kluang District Hockey president, Samsulharul Anuar and SSTMI principal, Suhaimi Sun Abdullah.

“TNB has for many years been involved in the development of junior hockey in this country and the introduction of the Thunderbolts Cup is another added opportunity for all the four Thunderbolts teams to enhance their skills. We welcome Singapore Development Team, Sabah Sports School, Johor Sports School and Selangor,” said Datuk Baderul.

“All the players must use this opportunity to improve your skills. There is a lot to learn from the stronger teams playing here,” he added.

Results – Final: BJSS 7 Sabah Sports School 2; 3rd/4th Placing: SSTMI 4 Johor Sports School 2.