Jang hits brace as THT bag triple double

By September 25, 2016 October 6th, 2016 Blog, Newsroom

KUALA LUMPUR (25 September, 2016):Terengganu Hockey Team retained their TNB Cup title for a third consecutive year when they beat Sapura 3-0 in the final at the Tun Razak Hockey Stadium today.

The win means that they have now completed a triple double, as they also won the Malaysian Premier Hockey League (MPHL) crown for a third straight time earlier this month.

Over 3,500 hockey fans turned up to watch the final that was also televised live on Astro Arena.

THT took the lead through top scorer and Korean Jang Jonghyun when the drag-flick specialist expertly placed the ball into the bottom left of the goalmouth manned by Mohd Hairi Abdul Rahman in the sixth minute.

It was 2-0 in the 22nd minute when Nicolas Enrique Della Torre received a pass on the left from team captain Mohd Fitri Saari and blasted home from the tightest of angles.

Sapura, who did not look their normal selves, struggled offensively and posed very little danger to THT goalkeeper Muhd Hafizuddin Othman from two penalty corners.

THT’s Faizal Saari could have made it 3-0 in the 36th minute after brilliantly turning the defence, but with only Mohd Hairi to beat, the striker sent his shot wide.

Sapura began to find their rhythm after the break as their forwards began to assert themselves and on two occasions forced saves from Muhd Hafizuddin.

But it was set and match in the 51st minute when Jang scored from a penalty corner, his 20th goal in all TNBMHL competitions this season.

The TNB Cup final was witnessed by several dignitaries including Terengganu MenteriBesar, Haji Ahmad Razif Abdul Rahman, Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports, Datuk M. Saravanan, Terengganu Exco for Youth, Sports and Human Resources Dato’ Haji Rozi Haji Mamat, President and Chief Executive Officer of Sapura Group, Tan Sri Dato’ Seri SharilShamsuddin, TNB Senior General Manager (Corporate Affairs & Communications), Datuk Ir. Mohd Aminuddin Mohd Amin, Astro Arena General Manager John Nienaber, QNET Malaysia Managing Director Stevenson Charles and Malaysian Hockey Confederation President Dato’ Seri Subahan Kamal.

THT coach Sarjit Singh was ecstatic about winning the double, especially after a slow start to the season.

“Winning the League and TNB Cup titles for three consecutive years is not an easy task, but with solid backing from the management and fans, we made it a proud moment for them,” said Sarjit.

Jang gave THT more to celebrate as he clinched the top scorer award.

THT grabbed the winners cheque of RM100,000 for winning the TNB Cup and RM100,000 for capturing the Premier League while Sapura pocketed RM60,000 as runners-up of the TNB Cup and RM60,000 for finishing second in the Premier League.