Akhimullah, Kamil star as Thunderbolt retain President Cup

By September 25, 2016 October 6th, 2016 Blog, Newsroom

Kuala Lumpur (25 September, 2016): Defending champions TNB Thunderbolt retained the TNBMHL 2016 President Cup.

The development team of Tenaga Nasional Berhad pulverized Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School (SSMI) 7-2 in the final at the Tun Razak Stadium today.

It was also the first defeat ever inflicted on the Bandar Penawar sports school by any team and the heaviest in the 2016 TNBMHL season. The last time both teams played against each other was in the Division One League curtain raiser opening match on August 5 which ended in a 3-3 draw.

“It has been a glorious season for us in the TNBMHL this year. First the league Cup and now we won the President Cup. The players were simply fantastic throughout this season and beating SSTMI with a big score (7-2) was surprising but satisfying,” said Thunderbolt head coach Nor Saiful Zaini.

Thunderbolt walked away with RM30,000 winner’s purse as President Cup champion and SSTMI RM20,000. Thunderbolt also bagged RM30,000 as League champions.

Muhammad Akhimullah Anuar Esook, who leaves with the National Development squad on Monday to compete in the Australian Hockey League in Perth, scored a brace (3rd and 30th minutes) while Mohamed Kamil Yusof also helped himself to two goals (14th and 27th).

Thunderbolt other scorers were Muhammad Nursyahmi Zulkifle (11th), drag-flick specialist Muhamad Idris Samad (46th) and Muhamad Izham Azhar (53rd). SSTMI replied through two-goal hero Muhammad Zulhamizan Awang Abas, who is the tournament top scorer with 17 goals.

SSTMI head coach, Azlizam Abdul Shukor, however, lamented his team’s heavy defeat to fatigue owing to the closeness of the date for the semi-finals and final.

“Thunderbolt is without doubt a much better side throughout the tournament. They played a fast attacking game today and often caught our defenders off guard. But I must say one of the reason for this heavy defeat is we have been playing tough matches in the quarterfinals and semifinals,” said Azlizam.

“A one day rest is surely hardly enough for any form of recovery. However, I must congratulate Thunderbolt for a great game today and deserve to be winners,” he added.

Division One League Roll Of Honour:
Champion: TNB Thunderbolt (RM30,000)
Runner-up: Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School (RM20,000)
Third: Universiti Teknologi MARA-KPT (RM10,000)

President Cup:
Champion: TNB Thunderbolt (RM30,000)
Runner-up: Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School (RM20,000)
Man of the Match: Muhammad Akhimullah Anuar Esook
Top Scorer: Muhammad Zulhamizan Awang Abas (17 goals)
Fairplay: Nur Insafi