Thunderbolt, SSTMI in President Cup Final

By September 23, 2016 October 6th, 2016 Blog, Newsroom

Kuala Lumpur (23 Sept, 2016): Defending champions TNB Thunderbolt and Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School (SSTMI) advanced into Sunday’s final of the TNBMHL 2016 President Cup at the Tun Razak Stadium.

Thunderbolt outclassed Politeknik Malaysia 6-3 in the second-leg semi-finals (aggregate 9-5 win) while SSTMI went on a goal spree to inflict a painful 6-2 defeat (aggregate 9-6 win) on Universiti Teknologi MARA.

Drag-flick specialist Muhamad Idris Samad scored a brace, taking his goal tally from penalty corners to nine in the tournament while Thunderbolts other double-goal scorer is Amirul Hamizan Azahar (57th and 59th). Mohd Akhimullah Anuar and Faiq Razin scored a piece. Politeknik replied through Mohd Amirul Hanis, Muhamad Zamri Zainal and Nor Fareed Zainurin.

Trailing by one-goal going into this return-leg encounter following Wednesday’s shocking 3-4 defeat, SSTMI were all fired-up as they stamped their authority and dominance over UiTM-KPT to take a 4-2 lead by the end of the third quarter.

The huge defeat also came as a big blow to UiTM’s mission of qualifying for a second consecutive President Cup final and taking a shot at the RM30,000 prize money after bowing out to Thunderbolt in the 2015 final.

Muhamad Zulhamizan Awang Abas (12th & 57th) and Muhamad Luqman Hakim (30th & 37th) scored a brace for SSTMI while Azhad Akmal (43rd) and Muhammad Haizzat (47th) added one each. UiTM-KPT replied through Syafiq Zulzairin (30th) and Kavin Kartik in the 41st minute of a penalty corner.

Meanwhile, the final of the Vivian May Soars Cup on Sunday at the Tun Razak Stadium will be between Royal Malaysian Police Blue Warriors and League champions Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School.

Blue Warriors survived a late onslaught by ATM Pernama to draw 2-2 (aggregate 3-2 win) but PKS-Uniten-KPT won 3-2 against SSTMI. However, the Bandar Penawar-based sports school went through to the final on 4-3 aggregate victory.

Blue Warriors dominated the match with relentless attack and defending in the first half and was quick to open their account when their goal scorer in the first-leg match Hanis Nadiah Onn scored in the 8th minute with a cool finish from a well-played counter-attack.

They were on target again in the 18th minute when Aida Fazriniza Zakaria scored from a perfectly taken penalty corner.

However, in the second half, ATM Pernama looked the better side as they played with some sense of urgency but left it late as they scored in the 57th and 59th minute through penalty corners.

ATM Pernama striker Fazillah Sylvester scored their first goal while Siti Rahmah Othman equalized just before the final whistle.

In the SSTMI-Uniten-KPT match, it was Nurul Nabihah Ibrahim who scored first for PKS-Uniten from a penalty corner in the 26th minute only for SSTMI’s Nuraini Abdul Rashid to equalize six minutes later through a penalty stroke.

It took PKS seven minutes to take the lead again as Nurul Nabihah slotted her second goal of the night through a penalty corner. The PKS striker got her hat-trick in the 44th minute after a smooth tuck in from a perfectly taken penalty corner.

PKS dominated the match from then on and missed several chances of building up the lead but a quick counter-attack saw SSTMI score their second goal through Surizan Awang Noh in the 50th minute.

SSTMI survived a last minute attack from PKS as they celebrated their march to the final with a standing-ovation from the crowd.

RESULTS – President Cup Second-leg semi-finals: SSTMI 6 UiTM-KPT 2 (SSTMI won 9-6 on aggregate); TNB Thunderbolt 6 Politeknik Malaysia 3 (TNB Thunderbolt won 9-5 on aggregate).

Vivian May Soars Cup Second-leg semi-finals: Blue Warriors 2 ATM Pernama 2 (Blue Warriors won 3-2 on aggregate); PKS-Uniten-KPT 3 SSTMI 2 (SSTMI won 4-3 on aggregate).