Luck of draw pits Sapura against SSTMI in semis

By September 2, 2016 October 6th, 2016 Blog, Newsroom

Kuala Lumpur (2 September, 2016): In a twist of luck, Premier League outfit Sapura Hockey Club have been drawn to meet Division One team Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School (SSTMI) in the semi-finals of the inaugural TNBMHL 2016 Knockout Tournament for the Tan Sri P. Alagendra Cup on September 6 in Bandar Penawar, Johor.

Double champions Terengganu Hockey Team (THT) will travel to the Kuala Lumpur Hockey Association Stadium in Jalan Pantai for their semi-finals encounter against Tenaga Nasional Berhad.

The final will be held on September 13 at the Tun Razak Stadium (8.0pm).

This will be the third time in the knockout tournament that Sapura HC, who has amassed nine points in four matches (three wins and one loss) to go top of the Premier League chart, has been drawn against Division One outfits. They defeated Penang-based Nur Insafi 4-0 in the first round and crushed ATM Airod 7-0 in the quarterfinals last week.

Sapura team manager, Louis Gregory, said he is happy with the draw but cautioned his players not to be over excited or confident against SSTMI, who currently share 12-equal points with TNB Thunderbolt in the Division One League but go top of the table standings on a better goal average.

“SSTMI is a young side and are playing much better in Division One League and also in the knockout tournament. We respect them but we will do our best to go beyond the semi-finals. It is the luck of the draw and we will take it from here,” said Gregory, adding that Sapura have now moved into top gear with the presence of New Zealand’s Phillip Ross Burrows and Australian Oscar William Wookey.

“Both players played their first match against ATM Airod in the knockout tournament quarterfinals since their arrival few days ago. As a team the players are blending well. This is a positive sign and we must carry on the momentum in the knockout tournament and Premier League,” he said.

The champion of the Tan Sri P. Alagendra Cup will receive RM70,000 in prize money and runner-up RM30,000.
SSTMI’s road to the semi-finals began with a 7-0 victory over Bukit Jalil Sports School in the first round and triumphed 3-0 in penalty shootout over Politeknik Malaysia in the quarterfinals after a 1-1 draw in regulation time.

Fixtures – Tan Sri P.Alagendra Cup Semi-finals (6 Sept, 2016): Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School v Sapura Hockey Club (Bandar Penawar, 6.0pm); Tenaga Nasional Berhad v Terengganu Hockey Team (KLHA Stadium, 6.0pm).