MPK edge Kilat/Skybo in Pahang final

By May 15, 2016 Newsroom

Kuantan (15 May, 2016): Majlis Perbandaran Kuantan (MPK) defeated Kilat/Skybo 4-2 in penalty shootout after both teams were locked in a 3-3 draw in regulation time to lift the TNB-MPK Pahang Hockey League 2016 on Sunday.

It was Kilat/Skybo who went ahead 2-0 with a brace from Muhammad Hafiz Zainol in the 17th and 35th minutes before MPK clawed back to level score 2-2 through Mohd Sabri Mohamad (45th minute, penalty corner) and M. Akmal Al-Hakim (52nd minute) in similar fashion.
Mohamed CairielAunwar, however, increased the score to 3-2 in favour of Kilat/Skybo with a 59th minute field goal but Muhammad Ikmal Hafiz brought joy to MPK five minutes later to equalise.



MPK also grabbed the winner’s purse of RM5,000 while Kilat/Skybo took home RM2,500. Pahang Veterans are third (RM1,300) and Persatuan Hoki Daerah Bera (PHD Bera) received RM700 for finishing fourth in the league which saw 17 teams competing for the men’s Division One and Women’s title.

The women’s league was contested by four teams. Majlis Sukan Pahang emerged champions (RM2,000) while Majlis Sukan Sekolah Pahang came in second (RM1,000).

Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHC) President, Dato’ Seri Subahan Kamal, who witnessed the final together with MHC Chief Executive Officer Logan Raj, commended Pahang HA for its dedication and commitment.

“Even with limited resources, Pahang Hockey showed utmost commitment to make this league a success. After Malacca, this is the second state league with 16-20 teams competing,” said Dato’ Seri Subahan. “On top of that, Pahang Hockey has always been very committed in organising international tournaments.”

“I am very glad to say that I see very good youth development done especially in Temerloh and all. I see grass roots development vigorously done and I believe Pahang is going to be a force to be reckoned in the future,” he added.