Petronas emerge champions in revived Malacca League

By May 10, 2016 Newsroom

Malacca (10 May, 2016): Petronas dominated the 2016 TNB Malacca League by claiming a double at the Bukit Serindit Hockey Stadium.

Led by several seniors and juniors, including guest player Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin Tengku Abdul Jalil, Petronas defeated Majlis Bandaraya Melaka Bersejarah (MBMB) 5-1 in the final of the TNB Cup on Sunday, their second consecutive title after having clinched the Division One League earlier.



Mohd Alif Syazwan scored a brace (9th and 63rd minutes) via penalty corners while Tengku Ahmad (6th, field goal), Deddy Aryadi (31st minute, field goal) and Amirullah Zainol (42nd minute, field goal) added to MBMB’s misery. Ramadhan Rosli scored MBMB’s solitary goal in the 17th minute from a field goal.

Brotherhood also edged Sekolah Sukan Melaka SMK Seri Kota 2-1 to clinch third position. In the women’s league, Sekolah Sukan Melaka emerged champions followed by their juniors’ side, SMK Iskandar Shah in third spot and SM Agama Repah, Tampin fourth.

The TNB Malacca League was revived after a lapse of eight years following a grant of RM50,000 to each affiliate by the Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHC) to hold state leagues. The champions of all the states will compete in the national-level Champions League.

“The states must organise their leagues in the early part of the year. And each state must have at least 10 teams in its league to be eligible for the RM50,000 grant,” said MHC President, Dato’ Seri Subahan Kamal, in his closing speech to hockey fans during the prize giving ceremony.

He was accompanied by Malacca HA president, Habibul Ajmi Datuk Hj Manggar, TNB Malacca General-Manager, Datuk Baderul Sham Saad, MHC Chief Executive Officer, Logan Raj and MHC Technical Director, Terry Walsh during the prize presentations.

“MHC is very excited as Malacca HA took the first initiative by accepting our call and organised the state leagues with the participations of 24 teams, including women. For eight years the league was put on ice and under the new leadership and dedicated officials, we are able to initiate the league once again,” added Dato’ Subahan.

The MHC president also expressed his gratitude to Tenaga Nasional Berhad for playing a major role in the revival of the Malacca state league, adding that with the introduction of the league Malacca Hurricanes will benefit most with the emergence of talented players just as it had churned out several past and present national players.

Habibul echoed that Malacca HA have laid out several grassroots development plans aimed at introducing the game to a wider pool of schools in the state since last year with age-group competitions taking greater platform and priority.

“Malacca Hurricanes emerged 2015 Razak Cup champions but success came after we pooled all our resources at the grassroots level. It was very meaningful victory for Malacca HA as well which have spurred us to continue with our hard work,” said Habibul.

Malacca HA also presented cash incentives to players from the state that has been selected for the national senior men and women teams. They are Deddy Aryadi and Mohamad Firdaus who were members of the national team that toured New Zealand and Australia recently while Nur Aisyah Yaacob and Noraslinda Said are in Japan.


TNB Melaka Cup:
Champion: Petronas
Runner-up: Majlis Bandaraya Melaka Bersejarah (MBMB)
Third: Brotherhood
Fourth: Sekolah Sukan Melaka SMK Seri Kota

Division One – Champion: Petronas
Runner-up: Majlis Bandaraya Melaka Bersejarah (MBMB)
Third: Brotherhood
Fourth: Sekolah Sukan Negeri SMK Seri Kota

Division Two – Champion: SMK Tinggi Melaka
Runner-up: SSN Melaka
Third: SMK Datuk Bendahara
Fourth: SMK Bukit Katil

Women’s League – Champion: Sekolah Sukan Melaka
Runner-up: Sekolah Sukan Melaka Junior
Third: SMK Iskandar Shah
Fourth: SM Agama Repah, Tampin